Volume 17, #2 Fall/Winter 2011/12
CIC Google Digitization: Purdue contributed over 57,000 items for this project and is currently collaborating with the University of Iowa to catalog and contribute individual items from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set for this initiative. (Bert Chapman)
From the Chair
Indiana University Libraries News-It's been an incredibly busy fall semester! We have had a lot of library users. We are most pleased to have three history classes delving into State Department records with many of these on microfilm. Students are studying various historical topics including Latin America, the Caribbean, Japan, and various conspiracies. Declassified Documents is another popular source.
During the Spring Semester, the University will be renovating about 2/3 of the floor currently assigned to Government Information, Maps, and Microforms to create space for the University's Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning. This necessitated a considerable amount of our collection being transferred to off-site storage. It all still should be available for Interlibrary Loan and other patron use. However, if you refer anyone here for access, advise them to request it before making a trip to Bloomington. They should email email@example.com and we can retrieve volumes before we visit. The Indiana Collection is not affected by this and this collection is the only collection of official state documents shelved together on open shelves for patrons to browse.
We have subscribed to the UN Energy Database. Although not officially "government" information, the biggest news is the digital release of the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps on IU's GIS website the Indiana Spatial Data Portal. We will be linking the color scans to our Union List over the semester break, making PDF copies of these easier to retrieve. Note: When you go to the Indiana Spatial Data Portal, click on Dataset Information, then Sanborn Historic Maps, then Single File Interface, then the County you want to view, then the place. From there click on the Indiana Sanborn Historic Maps, Public Domain, PDF. Genealogists will love this, if we can get the links on the Union List. So you, might wait until January to refer users to them.
Staffing: Pam Glim and Linda Kelsey retired in August. Their positions are to be filled by one new position. Andrea Singer will retire in January, and her position will probably be re-described and assigned more to Area Studies. Be patient with us through these reductions, but do not hesitate to e-mail the department firstname.lastname@example.org if documents are needed. (Lou Malcomb).
Purdue Libraries News-Purdue has contributed over 57,000 documents to the Hathitrust/Google digitization project and is collaborating with the University of Iowa to catalog individual works in the Congressional Serial Set for this project. We also continue making progress cataloging pre-1976 congressional committee hearings for the Indiana Government Document Light Archive. Sometime in the next year we hope to begin cataloging publications from the Energy Department, EPA, and NASA from our Engineering Library as part of our Light Archive commitment. A large variety of students received instruction in Government Information and used these resources during the fall semester with subjects represented including Agricultural Economics, health care law and policy, Indiana Government and politics, natural resources policy, oil sands, regulatory politics, sociology, the relationship between Catholicism and labor strikes, U.S. Constitutional Law history, U.S. political and religious history. and others. I have contributed 14 entries to the Encyclopedia of Politics in the American West on various aspects of military and natural resources policy which will be published by CQ Press. I have also contributed chapter on various national and international government and military information resources to the forthcoming CRC Press work Pandemic Planning (Bert Chapman)
ARPA-E: The Energy Dept's Advanced Research Products Agency was established in 2007 by the America Competes Act (P.L. 110-69) and codified at 42 USC 16538. ARPA-E's purposes include enhancing U.S. economic and energy security by developing energy technologies to reduce energy imports from foreign sources; reducing energy-related emissions including greenhouse gases; improving energy efficiency in all sectors; and ensuring the U.S. maintains a technolgical lead in developing and deploying advanced energy technologies. Means of achieving these goals include identifying and promoting revolutionary advances in fundamental and applied sciences; translating scientific discoveries and cutting-edge inventions into technological innovations; and accelerating transformational technological advances in areas industry is not likely to undertake due to technical and financial uncertainty. ARPA-E is modeled after the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).
ARPA-E has received several hundred million in economic stimulus funding and its FY 2012 congressional budget request was for $650,011,000. Its FY 2010 Annual Report covered program areas such as agile delivery of electric power technology; batteries for electrical energy storage in transportation; electrofuels; grid-scale rampable intermittent dispatchable storage; and innovative materials and processes for carbon capture technologies. Its website includes funding opportunity announcements, upcoming events and workshops such as an Energy Innovation Workshop scheduled for February 27-29, 2012 near Washington, DC; and information about ongoing ARPA-E funded projects such as the University of Notre Dame's CO2 (Carbon Dioxide) Capture with Ionic Liquids Involving Phase Change. (Bert Chapman)
Arctic Military Resources: Due to climactic changes, the Arctic Ocean region is becoming of increasing interest to various nations including the U.S., Canada, Denmark, Norway, Russia, and even China. This region possesses significant oil and natural gas resources and the increasing occurrence of ice free waters during the summer makes it possible for ships carrying international trade to use these waters to drastically shorten the length of some existing maritime trade routes. This region is also becoming increasingly important for military activity as many of these countries are strengthening their military presences in this region. in August 2007 Russia planted its national flag on the floor beneath the North Pole to strengthen its claims to that areas natural resources. Canada is strengthening its physical presence in this region as well. Numerous government and military agencies are producing information resources that seek to outline national Arctic policy including those with military implications. Numerous USGS and Energy Information Administration studies have documented the region's natural resources. In January 2009 the outgoing Bush Administration released the following document of administration Arctic strategy which has continued into the Obama Administration. A May 2011 DOD document Report to Congress on Arctic Operations and the Northwest Passage provides additional specifics. Russia in the Arctic a July 2011 U.S. Army War College report is another example of the Arctic's growing presence in military literature as is this July 2011 document detailing Canada's northern strategy. The Norwegian academic website GeoPolitics in the High North provides additional analyses and links to government Arctic strategy documents. (Bert Chapman)
Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive: This office seeks to integrate national counterintelligence efforts against foreign intelligence threats facing the U.S. Executive Order (EO) 12333 defines counterintelligence as "information gathered and activities conducted to identify, deceive, exploit, disrupt, or protect against espionage, other intelligence activities, sabotage, or assassinations conducted for or on behalf of foreign powers, organizations, or persons, or their agents, or international terrorist organizations or activities. Information resources on this site include the text of relevant laws including the 2008 amended version of EO 12333, a counterintelligence glossary and historical background reading, and various reports including annual Counterintelligence Strategy documents required by 50 USC 402a, and an archive of annual reports to Congress on foreign economic and industrial espionage from 1995 to the present. This site is an extremely useful information resource for those interested in counterintelligence and economic aspects of national security. (Bert Chapman)
AALL's Government Relations Office and Government Relations Committee Develop One-Pagers: AALL's Government Relations Office (GRO) and Government Relations Committee are working together to develop one-agers on our public policy proorities. These one-pagers provide background information and key talking points to influence members of Congress and other stakeholders. The new one-pagers explain AALL's support for funding the Government Printing Office, the Federal Depository Library Program, and the Faster FOIA Act. The GRO used the recent one-pager on Network Neutrality as part of the AALL's action campaign to oppose a resolution (S.J. RES 6) that would strip the Federal Communications Commission of the authority to enforce net neutrality. (Jennifer Bryan Morgan).