Skip to main content

INDIGO News Volume 15, #2 Fall/Winter 2009-2010: Home

INDIGO Newsletter

INDIGO News Volume 15, #2 Fall/Winter 2009-2010

Volume 15, #2 Fall/Winter 2009/2010

From the Chair:

Cataloging Government Publications: Technical services and cataloging for depository materials is now easier. GPO has relaunched Web Tech Notes on the FDLP Desktop. This long-awaited application replaces the discontinued Administrative Notes, Technical Supplement (ANTS) whose final print issue was Vol. 15, #11-12, November-December 31, 2008. Web Tech Notes features advanced ANTS searching from 1991 through the just mentioned issue and an RSS feed to keep users automatically updated about changes. Advanced search also allows users to search by date ranges and information categories. For example, in the cataloging and classification category, a user can search on "Change class to" in the Notes field for recent dates in order to discover and investigate recent SuDoc class changes. A help page explains features and gives search tips and strategies. GPO staff can create and update records to help depository library staff more easily track changes to federal publications. Each entry is a record and records are organized by date and may be browsed, searched, resorted, and exported in various formats. Each Web Tech Notes record includes these fields:

1. Title (required)

2. Superintendent of Documents Classification Number (SuDoc No.)

3. Item Number

4. Shipping List Number

5. Status

6. Category

7. List Number (legacy data only)

8. Volume Number (legacy data only)

9. Record Number (new): A Unique, system-generated number.

10. Entry Date (new): Date the record was added into the system.

11. Last Modified (new): Date record edited by GPO staff.

For Indiana University-Bloomington Libraries cataloging work, the most valuable field will be #2 SuDoc no. This will make it easier to track problem classification numbers, reclass documents, and train staff. We look forward to the additional training resources being developed by GPO staff. The FDL Handbook online explains why it is important for librarians to update their cataloging. In Chapter 6: Technical Services, 6.12 librarians are encouraged to monitor cataloging record changes because they are updated continuously and corrected for both serials and monographs. Depository staff can use Web Tech Notes to make corrections to SuDoc numbers and errors in descriptive cataloging and access points. Libraries are encouraged to develop policies and procedures for updating records-now is a good time to review them. The new Web Tech Notes may make procedures much easier in the long run. (Andrea Morrison-Indiana University)

U.S. Regional and Functional Military Commands: U.S. military policy and strategic planning are carried out by various regional and functional military commands under the direction of the President and Joint Chiefs of Staff. They involve collaboration between multiple U.S. armed service branches and collabration with allied militaries. The websites for these unified commands are very useful information resources for users desirous of understanding multiple aspects of military policy. The newest unified command is United States Africa Command and its responsibilities cover this continent's increasing strategic importance to U.S. national interests. United States Central Command (CENTCOM) is responsible for U.S. military activities in the Mideast and Central Asia with military operations in Afghanistan and Iraq being a particularly important focus. European Command (EUCOM) covers all areas of Europe and parts of the former Soviet Union. Northern Command (NORTHCOM) is responsible for producing the North American continent and seas out to 500 miles from hostile attacks. United States Pacific Command (PACOM) covers the Asia-Pacific geographic region and includes countries such as Asian Russia, China, India, and other countries in an arc covering through Australia. U.S. Southern Command (SOUTHCOM) covers Central and South American countries. U.S. Special Operations Command (SOCOM) directs the activities of U.S. special operations forces with particular emphasis on anti-terrorist operations and United States Strategic Command (STRATCOM) is responsible for defending the U.S. against space-based attacks, ballistic missile strikes or other mass destruction weapons attacks including cyber attacks.

These command websites feature news releases and various reports including posture statements which provide information about the military capabilities of these commands. Command websites also feature social networking assets such as YouTube and Twitter. (Bert Chapman)

Federal Aviation Administration Office of Commercial Space Transportation: This FAA office is responsible for protecting U.S. public, property, national security and foreign policy interests involving space launch or reentry activities and encouraging, facilitating, and promoting U.S. commercial space transportation. The office website features a variety of information resources. These include announcements of upcoming meetings and conferences and press releases. Other resources include licensing and permit application procedures, the text of relevant laws such as 49 USC 701, regulations such as various sections in 14 CFR 400s, how it integrates National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) provisions into office activities, and statistics on launches including quarterly launch reports from 1996-present. Various reports on the commercial space launch industry are also available including State Support for Commercial Space Activities (2008?), Liability Risk Sharing Regime for U.S. Commerical Space Transporation: Study and Analysis (2002), Space and Air Traffic Management of Operational Space Vehicles (2008), Annual Research and Development Accomplishment Reports (2003-present), Guidelines for Experimental Permits for Reeusable Suborbital Rockets (2005), and many other subjects. FAA's Office of Commercial Space Transportation provides information on aerospace careers and education and is an excellent resource for users desirous of learning more about the commercial space transportation industry. (Bert Chapman).

Federal Highway Administration: The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) is the Transportation Dept. agency responsible for ensuring that U.S. roads and highways are safe and technologically current. It is also responsible for administering the Federal-Aid Highway Program which provides federal financial resources and technical assistance to state and local governments to construct, improve, and preserve the national highway system. This particular system covers 163,752 miles of roads (4% of the U.S. total road system) but carries approximately 45% of national highway traffic. The Federal-Aid Highway Program also provides resources for an additional one million miles of rural and urban roads which are not part of the national highway system.

Numerous information resources and reports are provided by the FHWA with subject breakdowns for these categories including roads and bridges, highway funding, environment, road operations and congestion, road users, safety, and research/technologies. Agency website users can find how economic stimulus funding from the "American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009" are being used for transportation infrastructure projects. Examples of the rich variety of reports available from this agency include Rails With Trails: Lessons Learned (2002), Financing Federal-Aid-Highways (2007), Report to Congress on Catastrophic Hurricane Evacuation Plan Evaluation (2006), Highway Trust Fund 2006 Financial Report (2006), and many others. (Bert Chapman)

Indiana University Bloomington News: Construction has started on the addition to IUB's Auxiliary Library Facility. Vaughn Nuest, Manager, Ruth Lilly Auxiliary Library Facility. reported on October 30. The site has been graded, limestone outcroppings broken apart and removed, poured concrete footings are in place, and the walls for the new ALF collections are expected to begin to rise and be placed in position within the next week of two. Nuest also reported that the project is expected to be complete by early July 2010. There are presently over 2,000,000 rare, fragile, valuable, and seldom-used items housed in ALF.

As reported on our listserv, IUB will close the Geography & Map Library on January 1, 2010. Most of the map collection will be moved to the Wells Library on the same floor housing our government information resources collection, East Tower 2 (ET2). The map collection is one of Indiana's largest holding historical maps like the Indiana Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, as well as internatinal collections of topographic maps. Most maps date prior to 1970 although current maps are acquired, with future emphasis going toward electronic files. Most journals and books will be transferred to ALF or the Geology Library at 1001 E. 10th Street. Resources will remain accessible to the public throughout the move.

John Cash mentioned at the INDIGO meeting that he had prepared a display for Government Information and Kent Cooper Services related to maps from Saudi Arabia, stemming from a partnership with USGS. As part of the national celebration of Special Collections/Archives MOnth In October, this department prepared displays on the CCC in Indiana, Humor in Hard Times, and a small exhibit on the WPA in Indiana (overseen by Lou Malcomb). The libraries acquired a large collection of historic WPA poster reproductions in an initiative lead by Bob Goehlert which will be cataloged and retained. Additional displays during the fall semester include one celebrating UNESCO's commitment to cultural heritage forcuisng on the latest addition to its Intangible Cultural Heritage List from Indonesia-Batik; one highlighting the life of President Barack Obama's mother, Stanley Ann Dunham (created by Adrea Singer), and the most recent commemorating Veterans' Day, November 11, 2009 created by Public Services Associate Kimberly Horne.

East Tower 2 (ET2) now has a BLOG where we can report on various events and issues related to government information, microforms, or periodicals. See our home page. We have also created a few podcasts for marketing our resources with SLIS Intern Dunstan McNutt creating The Freedom of Information Act and Sarah Lucas creating Depositories!; Where Did That Law Come From?; and Who Was Kent Cooper? These will be available soon on IU's podcast portal. (Lou Malcomb)

Purdue Libraries News-The Documents Department was transferred to the Libraries Information Technology Resource Services (ITRS) and, consequently, I no longer directly supervise support staff. This staff continues our retrospective cataloging efforts for the Indiana Government Document Light Archive. We are nearly finished cataloging microfiche from the mid-1970s to early 1990s for agencies such as the Transportation Department. Late this summer, we began process of cataloging documents in the HSSE attic and transferring them to the HIKS Repository storage facility in the Undergraduate Library. As of mid-October, we have finished cataloging retrospective Agriculture Department materials, Civil Aeronautics Board documents, and begun cataloging Defense Department publications with some of these dating back to the 1950s. We are proceeding in SuDoc number order in this project which may take a couple of years.

I have also spent a considerable amount of time cataloging nondepository electronic government information resources from agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management, Minerals Management Service, Fish and Wildlife Service, and am currently working on various Transportation Dept. agency non-depository born-digital publications.

My book Military Doctrine: A Reference Handbook has just been published by Praeger Security International as part of their Contemporary, Military, Strategic, and Security Issues monographic series. The work covers military doctrine documents and scholarly literature on this topic during the 20th and 21st centuries covering the U.S. and many other countries.

Display case exhibits have been prepared for Government Documents on Pakistan and now Government Documents on Military Medicine. (Bert Chapman)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007