Volume 9, #2 Fall-Winter 2002-2003
From the Chair:
We still have decisions to make about our virtual Government website, but I think we can work on our pages while making these decisions. Deadline on all decisions is Nov. 29, 2002. First we need a name. Candidates so far:
Cracking the Bureaucracy--Using Government Information
EGOV (Electronic Government)
Government Documents Your Organization Can Use
Government Information Users Manual
Government Information Portal
Hoosiers Guide to Government Information
VIRGO (Virtual Government Online)
YODA (Your Online Documents Access)
YOGA (Your Online Government Access)
Some of these are okay, but none really grab me. Please choose one of these or contribute more names. Deadline: November 29, 2002.
Logo: Bert´s wife is willing to develop a logo, but really needs more work on then a blue indigo color scheme. Maybe when we get our name we could incorporate that into our logo. Or since our site will contain both Indiana and federal sites we could juxtapose the Indiana state outline or seal with the U.S. flag or other federal logo. Give this thought and send ideas. Deadline: November 29, 2002.
Web Site Modules: Following is a list of current web site modules. Let me know if you no longer want to do the module and I´ll offer it to others. This list will be sent to INDIGO members at large. You can begin working on your modules which are not due November 29, 2002! We will need some finished before Joyce and I present at ILF (assuming we get a slot). See Guidelines below:
Access Indiana (Sylvia Andrews)
Arts & Humanitiees (Cheryl Truesdell)
Banking (Joyce Eikenberry)
Business Statistics (Joyce Eikenberry)
Census (Sylvia Andrews)
Consumer Services & Safety (Cheryl Truesdell)
Defense, Security, & Foreign Affairs (Bert Chapman)
Employment, Labor, & Occupations (Joyce Eikenberry)
Genealogy (Doug Conrads)
Government Documents in Spanish (Joyce Eikenberry)
History & Overview of Federal Document Depository System (Lou Malcomb)
Historical Statistics (Lou Malcomb)
Laws, Regulations, & Court Decisions (Cheryl Truesdell)
Maps (Lou Malcomb)
Native Americans & Anthropology (Sylvia Andrews)
Politics, Voting, & Elections (Cheryl Truesdell)
Recreation and Travel (Lou Malcomb)
Science (Lou Malcomb)
Taxation (Joyce Eikenberry)
Cool sites for kids (great for AIME conference)
Foreign and International Government Information
Education (great for AIME conference)
Web Site Guidelines-I´ve revised the web site guidelines to reflect suggestions
received via email and at INDIGO. These changes include:
- I have added a section to list Primary Government Agencies, both state and federal in the subject area.
- I have added a mandatory template line at the bottom of each page that reads:
"For further information contact one of Indiana´s federal depository libraries with a link to the DIRECTORY OF FEDERAL AND STATE DEPOSITORY LIBRARIES IN INDIANA FOR 2002 prepared by Doug and posted on the INDIGO web site.
- Under format, I´ve added instruction to indicate a link to Indiana government sites with an (IN) after the name of the site. Bert can then use that to add either the Indiana state outline or state seal in front of the link or leave it as a "heads up" that this is an Indiana site. Deadline: November 29, 2002.
Thank you for your willingness to participate. (Cheryl Truesdell)
Federal Depository Library Conference Report 2002
The Federal Depository Conference is ususlly the most productive of all the
conferences I attend. This year was not any different. I took lots of notes, but do
not pretend to have recorded everything said or even to have caught all major news.
Besides the plenary and concurrent sessions, I can only report on the sessions I
attended. Please add any omitted or misrepresented information. GPO also plans
posting PowerPoint presentations and conference proceedings on their web site.
Monday-Oct. 21, 2002, Plenary Session
New public printer nominee Bruce James had not been confirmed yet so Michael
DiMario gave his annual update. Congress adjourned without passing a budget
and members went home to campaign. The government will work on a continuing
resolution until November 23, 2002 when Congress will reconvene and finish a lame
FDLP Conference attendees were honored with the presence of Senator Mark
Dayton (MN) who was the chair of the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Dayton
has supported GPO in its controversy over an OMB memorandum that does not
require agencies to use GPO to fulfill their printing and publication needs. OMB is
using a statement made by a Clinton Administration Justice Department official claiming
that Title 44 is unconstitutional. Congress, however, has declared that Title 44 is
constitutional and must be followed. The Bush Administration has said this congression-
al resolution is unconstitutional. Dayton appears to believe that the Executive Branch
has usurped Judicial Branch power in deciding what is or isn´t constitutional. OMB
has decided that they will print the new Budget of the United States but has asked
GPO to provide all the preparation for printing. A lawsuit may ensue.
GPO Access is being redesigned. Some new pages were available at the conference
for attendees to test and provide feedback. It was busy every time I went, but Becky
Byrum attended a focus group session and could tell us more about the new design.
GPO is monitoring the performance of GPO Access. The response time for the
Federal Register and CFR remain problematic but GPO is working on improvements.
The WAIS platform will be replaced with XML-based next generation software. One
measure hoped to improve response time is the development of a GPO Access mirror
site in Pueblo, CO.
GPO items have been added to online book vendors such as Amazon.com and
Barnes & Noble.com in hopes of increasing sales.
Due to high cataloging division turnover, cataloging production has been way down.
However, seven positions have been filled and improvements have been made to the
job description and job benefits to entice more librarians to apply and accept positions.
GPO´s inspection program is undergoing an audit by GPO´s Inspector General. Some
depositories may expect surprise visits from the IG´s office to check on both the
effectiveness of GPO´s Self-Study method and on-site inspection visits and to deter-
mine how depositories comply when they do not know they are going to be inspected.
GPO plans to alternate its inspection method between self-study and on-site inspection.
Those libraries that have had a self-study will have an on-site inspection next time.
GPO is working with the National Archives and Records Administration´s Office of
the Federal Register on creating a rule-making site known as regulations.gov. This site
will allow the public to submit comments electronically on proposed rules and to view
comments of others.
GPO has money from Congress to purchase an integrated library system. The
Request For Information document will go out shortly. Responses are due by Dec.
2002. Phase one of the system will include bibliographic records from the Monthly
Catalog/Catalog of Government Publications from 1976 to present, authority files, and
Monday, Oct. 21, 2002-Agency Updates
FEMA´s Multihazard Mapping Initiative: HazardMaps.gov
Be sure to look at this new tool. HazardMaps.gov is a cooperative project of FEMA,
NOAA, USGS, and the private sector to create a common mapping interface and
data exchange. Users can select one or more hazards e.g. floods, earthquakes,
droughts, hurricanes, and create maps to the street and zip code level. The system
includes various security levels. For example, the general public does not have access
to nuclear power plant, electric power plant, or oil pipeline locations.
This is another multiagency cooperative project providing a single research interface
for over 1,100 websites and 30 databases. The site is organized by 12 topics and
175 subtopics. In addition, a keyword search can be launched across 10 selected
databases simultaneously including Agricola, Integrated Taxonomic Information System,
DOE Information Bridge, Energy Citations Database, PubMed, ERIC, NASA Astro-
physics Data System, and the U.S. Patent Server. The current partner agencies
Commerce, Energy, EPA, NASA, National Libraries of Agriculture, Education, &
Medicine, Defense, and Interior will continue adding partners and content.
GPO and STAT-USA have negotiated access for depository libraries to USA Trade
Online. New password protected accounts will be issued. The new passwords will
work for both USA Trade and STAT-USA. Until the new passwords are issued
libraries can access USA Trade with username: 007, Password: nibor. STAT-USA
has developed a guide for including STAT-USA in college curriculums
www.stat-usa.gov/companion/ Free copies can be ordered on their website. GPO
has also developed a STAT-USA manual
www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/help/trainingbk/statusa.pdf, which is forthcoming on
GPO Access. One for USA Trade is forthcoming.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
The 2002 Census of Agriculture is ready to be sent out. New questions include
production contracts and multiple operators of farms. The Census has always just
tracked the primary farmer and now wants to know how many family members-wives,
sons, daughters, and others help run the farm. The first release of the Census of Agri-
culture is expected in February 2004. It will only be issued in CD-ROM and on the
The pdf version of Census 2000 Tract Outline maps are being released on DVD.
1990 pdfs are coming soon. All Summary File 3 (SF3) states are out on American
Factfinder. DVDs will come out in January 2003. Summary File 4 (SF4) is due out
in April 2003. SF4 includes SF3 data for 132 race groups, 78 American Indian &
Alaska Native tribes, 39 Hispanic and Latino, and 86 ancestry groups. The confidentiality
threshold for this data is at least 100 people for the chosen population group & geographic
area. Print PHC-1 reports are coming out now. Expect these to take up approximately
52" of shelf space for all 50 states and outlying areas.
Sample data Census Brief topics have been chosen. They include ancestry, disability
status, educational attainment, English ability, employment status, foreign-born population,
grandparents living with grandchildren, household income, journey to work, language uses
& marital status, occupations, poverty, residential mobility, school enrollment, veterans,
home values, housing costs, rental costs, and structural and occupational characteristics.
Tuesday, October 22 Agency Updates
Internal Revenue Service
The IRS has redesigned its website in an effort to make it more user friendly and has added
two new services. In January, taxpayers will be able to check on the status of their refund.
Statuses include tax forms that have been received, tax forms that have been processed,
and checks mailed. The IRS has negotiated free electronic prepartion & filing for low-income
taxpayers. A list of all places to file free is on their website.
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
The last printed Official Gazette has been sent. It is now available electronically at
www.uspto.gov/web/offices/com/sol/og/ PTO has digitized all patents from 1790-1999
on 430 DVDs which will only be issued to Patent & Trademark Depositories. They are
available to others for $20,000. The trademarks 1870-1998 backfiles have been completed
on 118 DVDs and will be sent to Patent & Trademark Depositories. USPTO is now making
U.S. patent applications from 2001 to present available on the web.
Tuesday, October 22-Cultural Diversion
Becky and I skipped out on the conference´s afternoon sessions for a refreshing cultural
diversion and healthy dose of fresh air and waliking. We went to the Renwick Gallery
to view the George Catlin exhibit. It is a splendid and sometimes breathtaking portrait of
western lands and Indian life before westward expansion and practical extermination of the
buffalo and Indian civilization. The portraits of Indian chiefs, warriors, wives, and children,
are exceptionally brilliant and recreate the faces of a proud and strong people.
We strolled past the White House but, for some reason, were not invited in for tea.
However, we encountered a Russian delegation all enjoying getting their picture taken. We
almost made it to FDR´s new memorial, but time bid us back to Rosslyn and dinner in
Wednesday, October 23, 2002-Agency Updates
The Department of Education is exceptionally proud of its new ED Pubs service
www.ed.gov/about/ordering.jsp. a one-stop shop for education materials. ED Pubs offers
free access to more than 1,200 free print and electronic publications including brochures,
CD-ROMs, grant applicaitons, newsletter, parent publications, posters, research reports,
videotapes, & other products. Users can place single or bulk orders and expect high-quality
response due to its performance-based operating system.
Centers for Disease Control
CDC has launched three new web sites: Public Health Emergency Preparedness & Response,
CDC en Espanol, and BAM! Kids Page. The Public Health Emergency Preparedness &
Response page www.bt.cdc.gov/ is CDC´s proactive approach to bioterrorism. It is directed
to the public and health professionals. The site includes information by topic and user type.
CDC is beginning a program to create Spanish mirrors of all its sites. The NIOSH site is now available in Spanish www.cdc.gov/spanish. Each of these sites includes toggle between English & Spanish.
The kid´s page www.bam.gov/ is designed or children 6-12 years and is based upon
two years of research & testing. It includes health topics for kids A-Z, games and activities,
and theme-based information presentations that will change quarterly. Fitness is the current
release and stress is the next topic.
Housing and Urban Development www.hud.gov/
For citizens HUD´s website provides information on homes for sale, FHA mortgage insurance
premium refunds, approved lenders, subsidized apartments, and the fair housing complaint
form. New services include state web pages, Spanish translations of HUD pages, real-time
chat capabilities for the public to talk to a housing counselor online, and Webcasts on how to buy a home. HUD has instituted a quarterly check of all its websites for accuracy! HUD has also installed kiosks in 16 libraries for people who don´t have web access. They hope to add more of these to malls, grocery stores, courthouses, and other public places.
Department of Energy (DOE)
DOE´s Office of Scientific & Technical Information (OSTI) has developed a distributed
search engine that searches, assimilates, and downloads full-text and/or bibliographic information based on the unique attributes of each site. They have implemented that search engine in their PrePrint Network www.osti.gov/preprint, GrayLit Network www.osti.gov/graylit, and recently in Science.gov. The PrePrint Network provides access to electronic preprings available from diverse sites. Generally, preprints are manuscripts that have not yet been published but may have been reviewed and accepted; submitted for publication; or intended for publication and being circulated for comment. PrePrint Network resources are provided by various sources including academic institutions, government research laboratories, scientific societies, private research organizations, and individual scientists & researchers. GrayLit Network searches across the Defense Technical Information Center Report Collection, DOE Information Bridge Report Collection, EPA National Environmental Publications internet site, NASA Jet Propulsion Center Lab Tech reports, and NASA Langley Technical Reports.
DOE has discontinued PubScience. They have received a lot of comments back from users.
However, due to overlap with Infotrieve and Scirus, DOE discontinued this service.
As of September 11, 2002, approximately 9,000 of 80,000 documents had been removed
from DOE databases. DOE OSTI searched their databases for items based on their sensitive subject list. Some agencies had no criteria for removed documents and used gut reaction.
DOE is reviewing the removed documents and replacing some of them on their site. Only the full-text of documents were removed not bibliographic information. In addition, depository libraries were not asked to remove any of these DOE documents from their collection.
Library of Congress Cataloging Distribution
The number of LC catalogers has increased to an all-time high of 19. LC has made an
unprecedented effort to recruit & replace vacant positions. They recently hired two section
chiefs and seven catalogers (one from IU). They expect to hire three more catalogers.
LC Classification Schedules have been completly revised and issued (there should be 41 now).
These will continue in paper for now, but the Weekly lists are on the web.
Classification Plus will no longer be a CD product. It is being replaced by Classification Web which is not a depository item and must be purchased from LC.
LC files are now available online http://authorities.loc.gov/. You can browse and display
authority headings for Subject, Name, Title, and Name/Title combinations. You can also
download authority records in MARC format for use in a local library system. This service
is offered free of charge.
Cenus 2000: The Data Engine (DVD Software)
Libraries can choose to either only load the software from the Census 2000 DVD or load the
software and all tables. Software installation is very quick, but allow several hours if you are going to load all the tables. There is a SF 1 tutorial online at
www.census.gov/mso/www/sf1dvd/ or on PowerPoint at www.census.gov/mso/www/pres_lib/dataengine_files/v3_documentation. SF1 & SF 3 soft-
ware is virtually identical. A SF 3 slideshow reviews SF 3 data and is available at
Although most of us hate to read technical documentation, Andrea Sevetson, highly
recommended the benefits of using the SF 3 technical documentation. Although, it
exceeds 1,000 pages she recommends the following:
Chapter 3-Lists tables by subject
Chapter 5-Lists tables in table numerical order
Chapter 6-Lists tables and any data cells
Appendix A-Explains Census Geography and gives diagrams explaining the relationships
Appendix B-Explains Subject Terms (e.g. Age) and how they are used in the file.
The DVD product allows users to select geography and multiple tables and cells within tables.
Data can be downloaded into comma delimited files, Excel, Microsoft Access, dBase III, IV,
& 5, Paradox 5x, FoxPro 2.6, & HTML. The DVD products seems very versatile and may
be preferable to American Factfinder for extensive research projects.
I could not remain for the afternoon plenary session and report from Depository Council.
2002 Congressional Elections Results
Indiana lost a congressional seat as a result of the 2000 census dropping the
number of Indiana´s U.S. House seats from 10 to 9. The November 2002
elections saw Republicans win 6 of Indiana´s 9 congressional seats. Winners,
arranged by the new congressional districts are: District 1-Peter Visclosky (D);
District 2-Mark Souder (R); District 3-Chris Chocola (R); District 4-Steve Buyer
(R); District 5-Dan Burton (R); District 6-Mike Pence (R); District 7-Julia Carson (D);
District 8-John Hostettler (R); and District 9-Baron Hill (D). Depository libaries
who are in new congressional districts need to notify the Indiana State Library and
GPO of these changes.
The Republican takeover of the U.S. Senate means Senator Richard Lugar will
become chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.
Indiana University Libraries News
In July/August 2002, Microform Services (formerly housed on the ground floor of the
IUB main library) merged with the large collections of the government information in
microformat on the 2nd floor of the Research Collections. The department was renamed
GIMSS: Government Information, Microforms, and Statistical Services. The merger improves
access to equipment and permits the Libraries to further develop services with this format.
While space is limited throughout the Main Library, the move permits enhanced space for
users. Reference services available at the GIMSS reference desk will incorporate reference
assistance for the valuable microform collections, including webpage development, and biblio-
graphic guides. From a "documents" perspective, this has increased our access to equipment
for our micoformat materials, but required our reference staff to assume additional "generalist"
Xiao Yu, GIMSS´ Electronic & Data Librarian, has accepted and will assume responsibilities
as Associate Librarian and Information Core Director in the California Center for Population
Research housed at UCLA on December 1, 2002.
On December 5, 2002, Marian Shaaban, International Documents Librarian and Librarian
for Western European Studies, announced her intention to retire at the end of January 2003.
We wish her the happiest of retirements. The entire Department is still somewhat in shock
from the announcement. She will be missed because of her expertise in International Govern-
ment Organization documentation. We will alert INDIGO concerning receptions.
Andrea Singer is updating our guides to various sets of Parliamentary Papers see
www.indiana.edu/~libgpd/subject.html since we have some of the series so records exist now
in IUCAT. Linda Kelsey continues updating our "Hot Topics" website
www.indiana.edu/~libgpd/hottopics.html, and the Country Resources website
www.indiana.edu/~libgpd/guides/green/home.html on a daily basis.
As many of you know, IUB Libraries dedicated its new Ruth Lilly Auxiliary Library Facility,
ALF, in early November. Many of our historical collections will be moved there during the
next three years. We are delighted to have the facility since it offers superior environmental
facilities, See www.indiana.edu/~libcirc/alf/ for more information. GIMSS should alert
INDIGO members that all U.S. congressional hearings (Y4s) will be moved to ALF, except
those that have circulated more than once or any new hearings received after November 15,
2002. We will continue to announce items that are being relocated to ALF on our ALF web-
site at: www.indiana.edu/~libgpd/gpdalf.html which also provices lists of materials intended for
ALF. Feel free to continue requesting any of these through ILL. (Lou Malcomb).
Purdue Libraries News
The renovation of Purdue´s Humanities, Social Science, and Education (HSSE)
Library is nearly finished. The new facility will open for service in January 2003
and will be publicly dedicated on April 12, 2003 as part of the Discover Purdue
events Purdue University has been using to enhance public awareness of the
university. Go to www.lib.purdue.edu/hsse/ for more information.
The Government Documents Department continues to make steady progress
retrospectively cataloging a number of U.S. Documents from the 1975 to the
mid 1990s. Materials cataloged since the last INDIGO News include many National
Park Service publications, Office of Technology Assessment reports, Congressional
Budget Office reports, House Science Committee hearings and prints, Senate Comm-
erce, Science, and Transporation Committee hearings and prints, House and Senate
Banking Committee hearings and prints, and several House Public Works and Trans-
portation Committee hearings.
A new subject guide on the Documents Department homepage covers
Forensic Science www.lib.purdue.edu/govdocs/forensic.html and was created for
a series of courses being offered at Purdue on forensic science for which Bert
Chapman recently presented two instructional sessions.
Electronic versions of some Canadian Government publications are also accessible
in the Purdue Libraries catalog. Do corporate author searches under
Canada Parliament and Parks Canada and you´ll be able to pull up a number of
interesting materials on subjects such as agriculture, border security, genetically
modified foods, health policy, and national parks management plans.
The new version homepage for the Purdue Libraries website www.lib.purdue.edu/
will be unveiled December 16, 2002. (Bert Chapman)
Purdue University News
Purdue has a number of research centers and institutes providing public information
resources for Indiana residents. A directory of Purdue research centers and links to
their websites can be found here. Examples of some of these facilities include the
National Biosecurity Resource Center for Animal Health Emergencies, the Birck
Nanotechnology Center (under development), and Discovery Park (also under
development.) (Bert Chapman)
Valparaiso University News
Moellering Library is in the middle of a retrospective barcoding project of all government
documents except maps. This is to prepare for the move to our new library in 2004 where
most of our documents will be placed in the Automated Storage and Retrieval System and
must have barcodes in order to be retrieved.
One of the benefits of the project will be that at its conclusion, every document will be repre-
sented in our online catalog Galileo and every document record in Galileo will be associated
with an actual document. We contracted with Marcive to provide our smart barcodes the
numbers of which were dropped into the item records of our documents in Galileo.
Another benefit is the massive weeding taking place in the documents area. Since only
items with Galileo records receive barcodes, documents not in the catalog are scrutinized
before records are downloaded from OCLC. Be prepared to see MANY disposal lists
from Moellering Library over the next couple of years. (Becky Byrum)
State Plan Assessment
At the November 1 INDIGO meeting, we began assessing the current state of local,
state, and federal documents in Indiana. Listed below are Jackie´s notes from our
brainstorming session on the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats that
affect documents information access in Indiana. Please contribute your ideas to the
lists by Decmeber 1. We will develop goals for the plan based largely on information
provided in this assessment process. (Judie Violette).
Expert librarians helping public
Active statewide organization (INDIGO)
No state mandate for government information
Online links from catalogs and uncataloged documents
Split focus of jobs (few devoted exclusively to documents work)
INDIGO´s a small organization
Lack of awareness
No oversight group (State Library involvement)
Local documents a mess
No archival plan (also a threat)
Information on the Internet
Individual Library Websites
IMLS/LSTA and other grant opportunities
Other school/library types
Auxiliary library storage and document delivery
Information literacy in schools
INSPIRE and other new technologies
Institutions giving up depository status for security/financial reasons
Weak state depository system
Indiana budget shortfall.
Indiana Local Government Websites
New Indiana local government websites include:
Indiana Trails Study www.IN.gov/dot/projects/trails/
Indianapolis West Side Corridor Project www.In.gov/dot/div/specialprojects/wsc/
Michiana Shores www.michianashores.com/
Pulaski County Sheriff www.pwrtc.com/~pulshrf/
State Road 101 Corridor Improvement
Feasibility Study www.IN.gov/dot/projects/sr101/
Addenda from Doug Conrads-How to Create a Union List of Indiana Federal Depositories
Selecting a Particular Item Number Using Documents Data Miner 2 (DDM2)
Documents Data Miner 2 (DDM2): http://govdoc.wichita.edu/ddm2
- Login: If you have never used DDM2, click on "New Account" and complete the form.
Otherwise, fill in your email address and password created when you originally established your DDM2 account.
- Click on "TOOLS" located at the bottom of the DDM2 homepage.
- Click on "Session Configuration" and fill in the form (note: for the box "records per page" type in 1000 (or any number higher than the default 25 so you can scoll through the query return data.)
- Scroll down the page until the form "Current Profile Settings" appears. For "State" use: Indiana. Click on "Submit."
- You will automatically be taken back to the DDM2 homepage. Click on "List of Classes. In the item number box, type in the specific item number to create a union list of Indiana depository libraries selecting that item number (note: use leading zeros if needed e.g. 0260-A-01. Click on "Submit."
- You will then be given the "Complete Class List" for the item number you entered. Click on the item number.
- You will then be given the "Union List for Item [number you choose] for the state of Indiana.
NOTE: In step 4, "Current Profile Settings" instead of a union list created based on the state, you can create a union list based on "Region" or "Distance" (mile radius) from your depository.
Upcoming Events-American Library Association Midwinter Conference- Philadelphia-January 24-28, 2003.