Skip to main content

INDIGO News Volume 14, #2 Fall/Winter 2008/2009: Home

INDIGO Newsletter

INDIGO News Volume 14, #2 Fall/Winter 2008/2009

Volume 14, #2 Fall/Winter 2008/2009

From the Chair: Welcome to new INDIGO members! We are glad you have joined us and hope you find your membership beneficial to you and the institutions you represent. I encourage you to become active members in the organization and feel empowered to ask questions, voice your opinions, and suggest future program topics. INDIGO is a great way to network with other government information specialists and to get help and support in your position as a documents librarian or staff member.

I always come away from an INDIGO meeting charged and ready to tackle new challenges. I'm looking forward to using--and maybe designing my own--custom search engine after David Oldenkamp's presentation. I'm in awe of Bert Chapman and Andrea Morrison as they discused their latest books. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing about happenings at the various depository libraries represented by INDIGO members attending the November 4th meeting at the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library. Thanks to the program committee for the arrangements and I look forward to the spring meeting at IU-Southeast in New Albany.

I've always thought that as our federal, state, and local government dcouemtsn go online and produce fewer tangible documents it is more important than ever that libraries retain documents librarians on staff. Having a knowledgeable person who knows government organization and the expertise to ferret out such information is imperative to our patrons. Without a watchdog community to sound the alarm when government information is removed or missing from government websites, we run the risk of becoming an Orwellian society.

INDIGO is committed as an organization to keeping government information free and available to the public. We applaud the efforts of Sally Holterhoff and other law librarians who are fighting the good fight to reinstate the Indiana Register in print until the electronic version becomes an acceptable alternative. Be ready to write your state legislators should the request come through indigo-l.

As we look toward a new administration in Washington in January, documents librarians are in a unique position to help safeguard our government information. Contact GPO if we find government agency websites temoving docuemnts and statistics that might be lost to the public. Though Indiana will not undergo an administrative change, it is imperative that we are vigilant with regard to our state documents and statistics.

Maybe it's overstating the case, but the future of democracy might rest upon our shoulders. Now don't you feel important? (Becky Byrum).

Violette Participation Award Winners: I'm very pleased to announce that the first award period for the Judie Violette INDIGO Participation Grant has been very successful. Pictured from left to right are the grant recipients: Marcella McGowan (SLIS student, IUPUI), Angela Dresselhaus (Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington), and Ashley Schoolman (SLIS student, Bloomington.) The Judie Violette INDIGO Participation Grant is intended to encourage and support new INDIGO participation by Indiana library affiliates. It supports the government document profession by introducing new librarians to more experienced documents librarians and also ecourages addition of a fresh
perspective to documents management. Grant recipients are introduced to other Indiana government documents librarians and the INDIGO organization. The grant award includes membership and meeting fees for one year and fifty dollars to offset a portion of travel costs. More details about the grant can be found here. Thank you to all INDIGO members who reached out to potential new members! (Kirsten Leonard, INDIGO Immediate Past Chair.)

Picture of Vilette Participation Award winners and Connie Redfield and her Indiana Memory program presentation at the Fall INDIGO meeting.

Comments from Violette Grant Recipient Angela Dresselhaus: I would like to thank INDIGO for the opportunity to attend the fall meeting as a Judie Violette grant winner. The meeting was fascinating and I enjoyed hearing government documents news from around the state. Connie Rendfield's Indiana Memory presentation was helpful for me. As a recent transplant to Indiana, I was unawaree of the collaborative historical repository. Since the meeting, I have taken time to browse the collections and have just started to learn more about Indiana history. The photograph collections are an amazing window into past times.

Small groups like INDIGO provide an excellent opportunity to network and contribute to the library community. Students and staff members like myself often receive no professional development funding. Grants like the Violette Participation Grant are greatly appreciated and help to plant the seed of professional involvement. My experiences at the fall INDIGO meeting were excellent and I hope to see everyone again in the spring. (Angela Dresselhaus)

Indiana University-Bloomington Libraries Update:GMSS welcomes unbound periodicals and newspapers which are moving in December 19-January 11. Our department will be renamed East Tower 2 (ET2) for East Tower 2 serving Government Information, Microforms, and Periodicals. It will include an area designated as the Kent Cooper Periodical Reading Room. Cooper (1880-1965), born in Columbus, IN, was a newspaper man whose career covered over 50 years, 41 with the Associated Press. The reason for this newspaper and periodicals location change stems from Ground Floor renovation which will see that area's focus turn to Media & Reserve Services. For now, old newspaper storage remains in E044. Conginue sending inquiries to libgpd@indiana.edu or call (812) 855-6924 with government information questions.

IUB Government Information unit staffing has changed since my last INDIGO newsletter contribution. Andrea Singer, Pam Glim, Linda Kelsey and I continue providing government information reference and expertise, but other supervisors include: Kathy Marlett, Kimberly Horne, and Sarah Lucas who provide technical processing and service to all users for microforms, electronic resources, and government information. They do the majority of student staff training who also process new items, shelve, and handle interlibrary loan scanning and other responsibilities.

IUB completed phase one of a map format review last spring. During old print days, we received two copies of many maps from the depository programs, but will focus in the future on retaining one copy shared between the three map collections. The Geography and Map Library will retain all editions and all revisions historically of 7.5 and 15 minute topo maps. Geology will retain geologic maps, current Indiana topos, the 1:100,000 and 1:250,000 maps. Heiko Muhr and Brian Winterman now staff the Geography & Map Library libgm@indiana.edu (812) 855-1108. Linda Stewart and I staff the Geology Library libgeol@indiana.edu (812) 855-1494. Many maps remain uncataloged so if an item is not listed in Worldcat or IUCAT, feel free to email or telephone to make sure we do not own. This spring we fill finish phase 2 of the review which will focus on preservation and future digital projects. There is also a group studying what the libraries should continue to do in the area of GIS, working with a campuswide GIS Users Group from numerous schools and departments.

Turning to acquisitions, we have acquired Part I of the Lexis-Nexis Congressional Hearings Digital Collection with the Law Library and other partners. This resource provices full text of congressional committee hearings from the earliest until 1970. This complements previously acquired full-text databases for the U.S. Congressional SErial SEt, Congressional Research Service reports and briefs, and committee prints. The IUB Law Library also provides rich resources for our libraries through Hein Online. We also have acquired the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) online database from Readex.

Political Science, Economics, and Criminal Justice subject specialist and European Union Depository Librarian Robert Goehlert acquired numerous archival microfilm sets from UPA (a Lexis_Nexis branch). Many of these relate to presidential agencies such as the National Security Council. They are listed in IUCAT and can be loaned through Interlibrary Loan.They are listed and indexed here which is an open site. We also get a searchable database called Primary Source that searches microfilm guides so we can ussually assist in identifying specic reels which might include specific documents. Andrea Singer reports that funding has been approved for acquiring 20th Century British Parliamentary Papers online and access is expected in early 2009. (Lou Malcomb).

First VIOLETTE Award Winners

INDIGO program

Improvised Explosive Devices Resources: Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs) have caused many fatalities among U.S. and allied troops fighting in Afghanistan and Iraq. Various information resources can be used to learn more about IEDs and how the military is trying to combat them. The Defense Department's Joint Improvised Explosive Device Defeat Organization (JIEDDO) is the principal agency involved in developing efforts to counter and defeat IEDs target at our forces. Their website provides some information on their activities. The House Armed Services Committee recently released a report on JIEDDO with recommendations for improving their programs. Government Accountability Office reports may contain additional insights on IEDs as will reports from military science/technology agencies. Australia's Defense Science and Technology Organization is a good example of an allied foreign counterpart military organization engaging in comparable research. (Bert Chapman)

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission: This independent Energy Department regulatory agency (acronym FERC) was established in 1977 and is responsible for regulating interstate transmission of electricity, natural gas, and oil. It is also responsible for reviewing proposals to build liquefied natural gas terminals, interstate natural gas pipelines, and licensing hydropower projects. Its website
Includes annual reports from 1992-present and strategic plans, commission rulings, the text of relevant laws, regulations, and court decisions,
commissioner's congressional committee testimony, enforcement actions, and reports on the industries its responsible for
regulating. There are also "Citizen's Guides" which are succinct but informative resources about FERC activities with titles such as A Guide to Liquified Natural Gas: What All Citizens Should Know, Citizens Guide to Hydropower Licensing, History of Oil Pipeline Regulation, and A Guide to the FERC Electric Transmission Facilities Permit Process. In addition, there is information on careers with this agency. It is a very valuable and essential resource for understanding many important aspects of governmental energy policymaking and energy industry trends and developments, (Bert Chapman)

Indiana Libraries Documents Special Issue: Authors are needed for a 2009 Indiana Libraries special issue on the theme of using online government information which will be co-edited by Joe Harmon (IUPUI) and Andrea Morrison (IUB). The focus in on practical information of use to public, academic, school, and special libraries in Indiana. Libraries are a major source for e-government information access and services in today's environment. Students and researchers rely on this information and the public also increasingly uses e-government services to interact with state and local governments. "Libraries have an increasingly significant role in responding to this environment of high user expectations and need to plan for rising demands for Internet government information." (Managing Electronic Government Information in Libraries: Issues and Practices, p. vii). We invite INDIGO members, libraries, state agencies, and others to submit an article to this special issue to address these issues for Indiana.

Potential authors may consult the last Indiana Libraries special issue for documents, v. 22, no. 1, (2003) for topics and ideas. Examples of topics still needed are: cataloging and metadata; children's resources; collection development, depository issues (state or federal e.g. disposal, weeding, selection, state plan for docs, etc.); digital library projects, collections, global resources: IGOs and international studies; accessing country information online; health and medicine; Indiana state agency practices (reporting on state digital archiving practices, specific agencies, etc.); maps (electronic spatial data; GIS); web guides for accessing e-government information/libraries website information; reference for academic and public library needs; science information; special populations (delivering e-gov information to disabled, homebound, non-English speaking populations, and prison populations, etc.); and statistics: using and finding government statistics.

We would be glad to discuss your article idea or connect authors with co-authors. Articles re due to the editors Sept. 5, 2009. For questions, contact Joe jharmon@iupui.edu or Andrea amorriso@indiana.edu (Andrea Morrison)

Purdue Libraries Update: The Libraries lecture series this fall featured an appearance by presidential historian Michael Beschloss who spoke about this year's presidential election and historic examples of presidential courage in a public lecture and a discussion with history and political science students. We are in the process of continuing retrospective cataloging of EPA microfiche from the 1970s and 1980s. Additional developments include cataloging MARC records from the LexisNexis Digital Congressional Serial Set and we are also cataloging records from the Energy Dept's Office of Scientific and Technical Information from 1991-present with over 97,000 of these records being in our OPAC as of early December. We have also gained access to LexisNexis Congressional Record. As of mid-December, we have access to 1985-1997 material but more material is expected to be loaded as December goes on. A display case of government documents on water policy ran from late summer to early December and it has been replaced by a display of documents on Abraham Lincoln to commemorate the bicentennial of the 16th President's birth next year. Our new Archives and Special Collections Department and facility are scheduled to open in January. Go here for more information on this facility, which will be located on HSSE Library's 4th floor, and access to the our diverse digitized resources documenting Purdue history and many other interesting topics. (Bert Chapman)

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration-This transportation department agency, also known as NHTSA, was established in 1970 as part of the Highway Safety Act. NHTSA's purposes include carrying out programs pertaining to motor vehicle safety, reducing deaths, injuries and economic losses from highway vehicle crashes, administering the state and community highway safety program with the Federal Highway Administration, carrying out the corporate average fuel economy (CAFE) program, exchanging state records on program drivers thru the National Driver Register Program, and conducting studies and programs to reduce economic losses in motor vehicle crashes and repairs. NHTSA's organization statement can be found in 49 CFR 501. Resources on NHTSA's website include laws and regulations, practical driving guidance such as agency policy on cell phone use while driving, press releases from 1997-present, a car defects and recalls database including information on how to file a car safety complaint, congressional testimony by agency officials, and research reports on numerous topics including Lives Saved in 2007 by Restraint Use and Minimum Age Drinking Laws (2008) and National Pedestrian Crash Report (2008). Besides its Washington, DC headquarters office, NHTSA has ten regional offices covering distinct geographic districts. Indiana is part of Region 5 who's coverage scope also includes Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota and this district's regional office is in Olympia Fields, IL in suburban Chicago. (Bert Chapman)

National Ice Center-The National Ice Center is part of the Commerce Dept's National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration and the Navy and Coast Guard are also involved in its operational activities. Its mission is providing the highest quality strategic and tactical ice services to meet national interests and provide specialized meteorological and oceanographic services for U.S. Government agencies. Resources accessible through its website include information on northern and southern hemisphere icebergs, the text of technical papers, scholarly articles written by center personnel published in prominent scientific journals, a study of potential naval operations in an ice-diminished Arctic Ocean, links to relevant websites produced by government agencies in other Arctic countries, descriptions of U.S. icebreaker ships, and other resources including maps, photos, and some GIS applications. A federal agency conducting complimentary research is the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Cold Regions Research Laboratory located in Hanover, NH. (Bert Chapman)

 

Upcoming Conferences: American Library Association Midwinter-Denver-January 23-27, 2009

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007