Skip to main content

INDIGO News Volume 13, #1 Spring/Summer 2007: Home

INDIGO Newsletter

INDIGO News Volume 13, #1 Spring/Summer 2007

Volume 13, #1 Spring/Summer 2007

From the Chair: The Spring INDIGO meeting at Purdue was a strong success! INDIGO would like to thank our hosts, Bert Chapman, Government Information Librarian, Judy Nixon, Humanities, Social Science and Education (HSSE) Librarian; and Jim Mullins, Dean of Libraries. The speakers were excellent and I think they learned something from else, as well. Katie Bourne's question to Tim Collins, Purdue Homeland Security Institute Managing Director, on whether the Muscatatuck Training facility had a research center really lit a fire and may result in a very interesting future job opportunity for someone in government documents librarianship!

The Business Meeting agenda was too ambitious, so we have much left to accomplish during the next few months before the Fall Meeting. The ALI Indiana Light Archives Planning Group would appreciate any suggestions, comments, or questions on any part of the Stewardship Guidelines draft. I will also be asking for feedback on the INDIGO Participation Grant guidelines that will be posted on the INDIGO listserv.

The major Fall Business Meeting agenda item will be reexamining INDIGO's vision and purpose. Currently, INDIGO purposes, as described in INDIGO Bylaws Article II are:
(a) To Provide a forum for dicsussion of problems and concerns, and for the exchange of ideas by librarians working with government information;
(b) To Provide a force for initiating and supporting programs to increase availability, use, and bibliographic control of government information;
(c) To increase communication between government information librarians and other librarians;
(d) To contribute to the extension and improvement of education and training of government information librarians;
(e) And to speak for Federal and State depositories concerning government information issues.

INDIGO was an absolute lifeline for me when I began my career in documents librarianship at Indiana University-Kokomo in 2003. It was both a means of learning more about government documents resources and managing these resources. INDIGO is also the best way to get to know other Indiana documents librarians. This opportunity to network and continue professional development is not available in many other states and should not be taken for granted. Through the revisioning we may decide to focus our efforts to fewer of the described purposes or instead renew our efforts to take action on state or federal government information issues. We may also try new communication avenues such as using Polycom or another telecommunication system to allow more member participation. Thank you to Jesse Lewis for the suggestion! While nothing beats the opportunity to meet face to face, the travel distance can be prohibitive and this would allow more voices to be heard (Kirsten Leonard, Chair 2006-2007).

Geosciences Government Information Resources: Two little known USGS databases can be used for help locating geologic maps available in a wide number of sources and digital USGS publications. They include the National Geologic Map Database and the USGS Publications Warehouse . The National Geologic Map Database is a searchable index to more than 78,000 paper and digital geologic maps produced by federal and state agencies. It includes maps related to geology, geophysics, paleontology, geochemistry, and other geology-related topics. The database includes links to printed maps in federal and state geological survey publications (such as USGS Professional Papers), scanned and born digital maps and digital spatial data. Links are provided to sites with digital maps and spatial data.

USGS Publications Warehouse contains information about more than 78,000 USGS publications including citations to USGS series published as early as 1880. The Warehouse also contains electronic versions of many USGS publications, including new publications, which are added regularly. Available content ranges from full text to bibliographic citations only. The database will eventually include citations to all USGS-authored products. Currently it primarily contains USGS published products. This database enables users to search for recently published reports, including reports published during a particular month and year, which have been registered with the Publications Warehouse. It does not include USGS-authored articles published in scientific journals. It can be used to search for and link to a publication's full content. Availability, price, and purchase options are also provided for print publications. Besides geological publications, the USGS Publications Warehouse contains citations to a number of Biological Resources Discipline report citations emphasizing historical research reports. These citations include U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service reports as well as National Biological Survey reports priot to creation of USGS' Biological Resources Division (Linda Zellmer)

Depauw University News: Recent work in our libraries includes finally retrospectively cataloging Smithsonian Institution material, much of which WorldCat shows held only by a handful of Indiana libraries. Titles include a fairly complete run of Smithsonian Miscellaneous Collections (SI 1.7:), and the Bulletin (SI 2.3), and other Bureau of American Ethnology material.

Sadly, we've found over the decades that those books had been sitting uncataloged on our shelves and the libraries had purchased reprints of several titles including The Winnebago Tribe, Historical Sketch of the Cherokee (we bought a reprint of a portion!), and Cherokee Nation of Indians. Trying to remain optimistic, we note that ech of these three books has circulated almost a dozen times over the life of the due date stamp in the back, which bodes well for future use of material being cataloged now!

We've also done the contribution series, which were mostly not full text online (and a couple not even abstracted online) when we started:

Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology (SI 1.33)
Smithsonian Contributions to Astrophysics (SI 1.12/2)
Smithsonian Contributions to Botany (SI 1.29)
Smithsonian Contributions to Paleobiology (SI 1.30)
Smithsonian Contributions to the Earth Sciences (SI 1.26)
Smithsonian Contributions to the Marine Sciences (SI 1.41)
Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology (SI 1.27)

We welcome ILL requests; even if OCLC doesn't show us holding a specific title. Feel free to contact me to see if it's still uncataloged. I've very happily cut apart the pages of several books that have never before been used, so our ILL staff could scan individual reports to send to other Indiana libraries and look forward to filling more requests. Summer plans include culling materials received between 1976-2002. Let me know if anyone has a wish list! (Kathryn Millis)

Indiana University-Bloomington Government Information News: Outreach/Marketing-During the 2006-2007 school year, IUB was fortunate to have three SLIS interns. Two students worked on our outreach/marketing efforts with numerous wonderful displays, a draft of a tri-fold handout for a "citizens guide", a markeing plan and photographs for our website. A big achievement was producing a video tour of our department (Government Information, Microforms, and Statistical Services (GIMSS), which is accessible through the library homepage. We also mounted this video on YouTube with the tags "IU", "Bloomington", and "Government Documents" to increase video traffic and depository awareness. Go to http://bl-libg-doghill.ads.iu.edu/gpd-web/GIMSS.mov to access this video. (Rhianna Williams and Dean Sullivan)

Indiana Documents Collection: Catie Kosinski, the third SLIS intern, worked on developing an "Indiana Collection" which involves identifying all Indiana documents in our collection and moving them and their IUCAT records to a new location. This allows us to better manage Indiana documents in the future so we are prepared for future digitization and preservation projects as well as user assistance. She also reviewed and updated many state and local documents web pages. (Lou Malcomb)

Microforms: During the last fiscal year, Indiana University Libraries continued receiving numerous government information related microfoilm sets INDIGO librarians would be interested in. Notable titles include Manhattan Project: Official History and Documents, Records of President Johnson's Commission on Law Enforcement, Part 1: Commission and Memoranda, and Richard M. Nixon National Security Files, 1969-1974. Many of the guides are available electronically via vendor stites such as UPA or Gale These collections circulate on interlibrary loan. (Julie Zamostny)

Historic Indiana Maps: We are working on updating the Historic Indiana Maps website and database with site refresh scheduled for July 1. Until then you the old site as well as the IUPUI site . [IUPUI received a grant from LSTA last year to digitize several maps and provide access to them.] This summer we hope to add access to many of the older topo maps, highway maps, etc. If there are specific maps you'd like digital access to (produced by federal or state agencies to avoid copyright problems) contact me so we can put them on our priority list. (Lou Malcomb)

FDLP Browse Topics: In November 2006, Lou Malcomb and Julie Zamostny began compiling and organizing resources to be listed on the brand new Indiana Browse Topics subject bibliography. The bibliography is currently being uploaded onto the new Browse Topics website. When completed, the guide will provide links to information about Indiana's government, business and labor, demographics, education, geography, health, history, natural resources, transportation, and veterans affairs. Other INDIGO libraries have contributed to the Browse Topics partnership so you might look at this Oklahoma State University library based resources in the future (Julie Zamostny)

Purdue University Libraries News: 2007 marks the centennial celebration of Purdue University Libraries being a federal depository library. A formal celebration marking this event will occur at Purdue during the May 4, 2007 INDIGO meeting and we are looking forward to your attendance. There will be exhibits of historic and current U.S. documents in the HSSE Library during this display. Purdue is also looking forward to hosting the Spring INDIGO meeting.

Numerous developments are occurring with Purdue's Documents Department collection. To accomodate materials being brought over to the HSSE Library from the Consumer and Family Sciences and Psychology Libraries which are being closed, a significant number of paper U.S. documents including the Congressional Serial Set and Congressional Record have been transferred to another location within Stewart Center. This resulted in a major shift of documents in HSSE which we are still in the process of getting organized. We are generally pleased with how our current records Marcive tapeload is working out although there are some bugs in the process. We continue making progress with our retrospective cataloging with significant areas of accomplishment including Y 4.L 11/4, Y 4.H 89, Y 4.H 88, Y 4.In 8/4, and Y 4.F 49. More materials are in the pipeline and we hope to finish congressional committee hearings and prints
from 1975-the early 1990s later this year. We also are making progress cataloging electronic only international
government organization resources and Australian, British, and Canadian government eresources.

Numerous interesting resources are provided by the Libraries Digital Repositories database which I mentioned in the previous INDIGO
newsletter. These include forthcoming e-data sets from Purdue researchers, the text of many articles written by Purdue faculty and staff, and various resources from the Libraries Archives and Special Collections. In this latter area, I particularly recommend the webcasts of the annual newsreels of developments at Purdue and digitzed images and documents about Amelia Earhart. I have also finished work on my book Space Warfare and Defense for ABC-Clio and am waiting for the publication process to begin. March 2008 is the targeted publication date.

The Libraries have also been involved in planning for participation in the Indiana Government Document Light Archive project and thinking about our responsibilities in this initiative. (Bert Chapman)

Indiana History: Two recent articles of possible interest to readers appeared in the March 2007 issue of the Indiana Magazine of History published by the Indiana Historical Society. One article "We Cannot Make a Silk Purse Out of a Sow's Ear: Eugenics in the Hoosier Heartland" covers the influence of the eugenics movement in early 20th century Indiana making use of Indiana state documents as source material while another article "Mr. Halleck's New Deal: Congressman Charles Halleck and the Limits to Reform" describes how this long-time Republican Representative interacted with his constituents in responding to federal New Deal legislation. An additional article in this issue examines exhibits at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum in Springfield, IL. (Bert Chapman)

Speech Delivered at Purdue Depository Library Centennial Celebration-May 4, 2007-Thank you to everyone who has come today to celebrate Purdue University Libraries federal depository library centennial. Congress passed legislation in 1907 granting depository library status to land-grant universities as a result of the desire of a congressional commission to enhance federal printing efficiency. Rep. Charles Landis of Logansport and New York Senator Thomas Collier Platt, known to history as "Boss Platt," were two of the key sponsors responsible for making this legislation a reality and increasing the number of federal depository libraries to 615.

Theodore Roosevelt was President in 1907 and the Speaker of the House was Danville, Illinois' Joseph Cannon who was noted for his authoritarian management style and cantankerous personality. A key issue confronting Congress and the nation that year was the controversial racially charged trial of soldiers in Brownsville, TX over a 1906 shooting incident in that community which would receive congressional investigative scrutiny that would produce reports that would become one of the many historically significant documents in Purdue's government information resources collection.

Tremendous historical, political, social, and technological developments have followed during the subsequent century. These include two World Wars, the Great Depression, ten decennial population censuses, seventeen presidencies, the Civil Rights movement, space race, and assorted agricultural, energy, health care, and environmental matters requiring federal government investigation and documentation.

From an exclusively paper publication distribution environment in 1907, there has been tremendous diversity in the formats government information has been distributed in. These multiple formats include microforms, floppy disks, CD-ROMs, DVDs, maps, and the Internet including audio and video webcasts. Providing timely and effective access to these resources is an ongoing professional commitment of myself and my colleagues at other federal depository libraries in Indiana and nationally.

An equally important component of this professional commitment is providing the American public with free access to these resources and to our respective institutions primary users. Government information librarians firmly believe that Americans are entitled to have free access to historical, contemporary, and future government information resources produeced by our government and paid for with our tax dollars. We firmly believe that an informed populace is the best guarantor of a vibrant, accountable, and effective republican governmental system.

Consequently, depository librarians at 1,250 libraries nationwide seek to build and maintain collections reflecting the diversity of information on subjects ranging from accounting to zoology produced by the U.S. Government as the world's largest publisher. Government information users have needs such as planning their summer vacation, getting instructions on filling out tax forms, renewing drivers licenses, checking the status of legislation or regulations, determining the current Consumer Price Index for energy, finding out how to export Ipods to China, and learning more about controversial historical and contemporary issues such as the Brownsville soldiers trial, the Hiss-Chambers case, embryonic stem cell research, and ongoing wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. It is also possible to use government information and statistics to support your positions on public policy issues regardless of your partisan or ideological perspectives. By using the rich government information resources available in Purdue University Libraries and other federal depository libraries, individuals can gain heightened and more substantive understanding of historical and contemporary public policy issues than the often superficial perspective provided by traditional and online media outlets and, in some cases, by scholarly literature.

On behalf of my depository library colleagues in Indiana and nationally, I encourage you to visit federal depository libraries, read government documents, and visit government agency websites to learn more about our government and the strengths and weaknesses of its programs. The Internet's global reach also makes it possible for us to gain comparable levels of increased knowledge about the activities of many local, state, foreign, and international government organizations. Take advantage of these opportunities to expand your intellectual horizons and thank you for your attendance and interest. (Bert Chapman)

Indiana Light Archive Collection Website : The Indiana Light Archive website has information about this project including the Collection Stewardship Guidelines document which INDIGO members are encouraged to read. (Bert Chapman)

 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007