Skip to main content

INDIGO News Volume 12, #2 Fall/Winter 2006: Home

INDIGO Newsletter

INDIGO News Volume 12, #2 Fall/Winter 2006

Volume 12, #2 Fall/Winter 2006

From the Chair: We have begun a new INDIGO membership year running from November 1-October 31. Those interested in government documents are encouraged to join INDIGO and the membership fee is only $10. Contact new INDIGO Secretary/Treasurer Jesse Lewis (317) 232-3670 or jlewis@statelib.lib.in.us for more information. Contact Cheryl Truesdell at truesdel@ipfw.edu to be added to the INDIGO-L listserv. INDIGO membership is not required to join the listserv, so encourage general reference staff or any interested in government documents to join. INDIGO membership is not required to attend the program portion of the spring and fall meetings, attendees need only pay the $5 meeting fee. We have had some excellent speakers in previous years, most recently Andy Zircle, Indiana Homeland Security Dept., and Morton Marcus, columnist, who would be of interest to many without direct responsibilities in government documents.

The new INDIGO Executive Board is: Kirsten Leonard, Chair 2006-2007
David Oldenkamp, Assist Chair/Chair Elect 2006-07, Chair 2007-08
Jennifer Bryan Morgan, Immediate Past Chair 2006-2007
Jesse Lewis, Secretary/Treasurer 2006-2008
Wendell Johnting, FedREC 2006-2008
Tim Sutherland, StateREC 2006-2008
The following appointments were made by the incoming Chair:
Bert Chapman, Chair Communications 2006-2008
Andrea Morrison, Chair Programs (until replacement is found)

We have several initiatives to address this year. The first continues the process of clarifying and redefining INDIGO in light of technology changes. New FedREC and StateREC chairs are charged with updating these committees descriptions in light of technology changes and current INDIGO practices. Current bylaws describe these positions as:

a. Federal Depository Representatives Committee (FedREC). This committee is composed of an elected chair who is an INDIGO member and serves for two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms. This committee is charged with determing a means to select a representative who is a Government Information Librarian to represent each of the federal depository libraries within the state. This Committee shall poll these representativesm as needed, on issues directly affecting the Federal Depository Libraries. The Committee will then formulate and articulate a position and communicate this to appropriate parties as representing the position of the Indiana Federal Depository Libraries. These positions shall also be forwarded to the INDIGO Executive Committee for further action as appropriate.

b. State Depository Representatives Committee (StateREC). This committee is composed of an elected Chair who is an INDIGO member and serves for two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms. This committee is charged with determining a means to select a representative who is a Government Information Librarian to represent each of the State Depository Libraries within the state. This Committee shall poll these representatives as needed, on issues directly affecting the State Depository Libraries. The Committee will then formulate and articulate a position and communicate this to appropriate parties as representing the position of the Indiana State Depository Libraries. These positions shall also be forwarded to the INDIGO Executive Committee for further action as appropriate.

We are looking for someone to take over as Program Committee Chair from Andrea Morrison, who has done an outstanding job. Kate Cruikshank has voluntered to assist the Chair. The Program Committee Chair, with committee assistance, proposed the professional development portion pf the Spring and Fall INDIGO meeting. This is an excellent opportunity to network with government speakers and other government documents librarians and support staff. We are also looking for at least one additional committee member. Please contact Kirsten Leonard kaleonar@iuk.edu (765-455-9346) if you are interested.

We are also looking to develop a Government Documents Support Staff Directory to provide contacts for those who may not be able or interested in attending the INDIGO meetings. Look for an INDIGO-L posting for more information. We will also looking into providing an INDIGO scholarship to provide assistance to those who would be interested an INDIGO meeting but are not provided with any financial support from their library.

Other new and ongoing initiatives include digitizing INDIGO archives, new membership through Wendell Johnting in the Indiana Coalition for Open Government (ICOG), ongoing efforts by Bob Hinton to host the Spring FDLP Conference in Indianapolis, and a response from INDIGO concerning the closing of EPA libraries (Andrea Morrison, Kirsten Leonard, and Mary Beth Minick). Several INDIGO members are part of the Indiana Light Archives Group which is working to achieve a cooperative complete circulating archive of all U.S. federal depository documents, the first archive project on a state-wide scale in the nation (Cheryl Truesdell, Bert Chapman, Anika Williams, and Kirsten Leonard).

This is a very interesting time to be working in government documents. I look forward to working with all of you in the upcoming year. (Kirsten Leonard-INDIGO Chair 2006-2007)

Purdue University Libraries News-Purdue Libraries, along with Indiana University, the University of Notre Dame, and the Indiana State Library, are working with GPO on a plan to develop a distributed light archive of tangible format U.S. Government documents. Marianne Ryan, the former Documents Librarian at the University of Maryland, is now Associate Dean for Learning at Purdue University Libraries. Purdue has hired Chris Miller as its new GIS specialist. He had previously been Documents Librarian and GIS specialist at Texas A&M University International in Laredo. The Libraries new Purdue Digital Repositories service provides access to Purdue University and Libraries datasets, digital documents, and archival resources. We have received approval to do a current records Marcive tapeload and we will begin receiving records in Nov. 2006. Retrospective cataloging has made significant progress with congressional Veterans Affairs and Small Business Committees (Y 4.V 64/3, Y 4.V 64/4, Y 4.Sm 1, and Y 4.Sm 1/2) along with some Education Dept. publications ED 1.2. We continue working on other congressional committee hearings and cataloging of selected electronic Australian, British, and Canadian government information resources continues. Sandy Barrett is the new departmental staff member. (Bert Chapman)

Indiana History-The Indiana Historical Society has published a new compilation of essays on Indiana Governors. The Governors of Indiana, edited by Linda C. Gugin and James E. St. Clair, provides information on this office's historical origins and evolution and chapters on territorial and state governors ranging from William Henry Harrison to Mitch Daniels. These chapters provide biographical information on governors and analysis of key developments of their tenure. Chapters conclude with bibliographical references and information on the location of their papers. The book's ISBN is 0-87195-196-7 (Bert Chapman)

Interesting Books by Syracuse University Geography Professor-Mark Monmonier, a Syracuse University Geography professor, has written a number of books that make extensive use of government documents and cover government policies. A work of his I just finished reading is Spying With Maps: Surveillance Technologies and the Future of Privacy (University of Chicago Press, 2002). This work covers surveillance technology such as Global Positioning Satellites (GPS) and how it can be used in areas as diverse as agriculture, environmental monitoring, meteorology, criminal justice including tracking sex predators, traffic management, tracking terrorist activities, and using postal and census data for marketing purposes. Other books Monmonier has written include Rhumb Lines and Map Wars: A Social History of the Mercator Projection (University of Chicago Press, 2004), Bushmanders and Bullwinkles: How Politicians Manipulate Electronic Maps and Census Data to Win Elections (University of Chicago Press, 2001), Cartographies of Danger: Mapping Hazards in America (University of Chicago Press, 1997), and others. His website is www.markmonmonier.com/ (Bert Chapman)

Indiana University Library News-125 Years Serving as a Federal Depository
Indiana University will celebrate its 125th birthday as a depository on December 30, 2006. The letter from then Senator Benjamin Harrison announcing our depository status will be posted with the press release. We are planning a small celebration with cake for early January. Happy Birthday to US!

Staff Update: Microforms and Public Service Coordinator: Justin Miller jupmille@indiana.edu started in GIMSS in November and will coordinate payroll, workstations, and hourly staff. He is a Purdue graduate and will be enrolling in the MIS program next year.

Public Services Supervisor: Julie Zamostny jzamostn@indiana.edu has several years of federal information experience and, in addition to providing service with microforms and our collections, is helping with federal documents and the floppy disk project.
She is currently enrolled in SLIS and expects to finish in 2007.

David Oldenkamp, IUB's new International Studies Librarian, is collection manager for International Government Organizations including the UN. Bob Goehlert serves as West European Studies collection manager including our European Union depository. Andrea Singer remains Foreign Documents Librarian and Librarian for India Studies. Contact information for all is available here

Changes Just Keep Coming-Because of budget constraints, you may hear rumors the Geography & Map Library is being closed. This is a preliminary announcement and full discussions about that campus library have not taken place but will in the next year. This doesn't mean any service or collection reduction, just that location and staffing may change. G-Map is not the only campus library to be discussed.

This library's map collection is a historical collection where all U.S. topo maps and revisions are retained, along with collections from other countries. All maps circulate on Interlibrary Loan except for our collection of historic Indiana maps. Many of these are coming online through the Geography and Map Historic Maps of Indiana Website. More will be available when an LSTA grant with IUPUI is completed. More than 300 historic Indiana maps have been scanned and will be on their website within the year at this website

ALF Update-The Auxiliarly Library FAcility, housing more than 275,000 documents, is fully encumbered. Wells Library Research Collection overcrowding requires that remaining space be used for these materials. ALF 2 and 3 planning has begun. Almost all ALF housed documents may be requested on ILL with only a small portion listed as "restricted-must be used at the IUB Lilly Library." If your users come to Bloomington to use materials, they should request items to be delivered in advance by using IUCAT.

Lexis-Nexis Products-Just wanted everyone to know that we acquired the Congressional Research Digital Collection from Lexis-Nexis. If you need a CRS report, issue brief, or major study, it is probably there. Under the license we are permitted to send thesse on ILL but in PRINT only. (Lou Malcomb)

Indiana Register-The Indiana Register is the official publication of the state of Indiana and is the means for state agencies to publish the full text of proposed rules and final rules as mandated under various Indiana Codes, including IC 4-22-2-40, IC 4-22-2-41, IC 4-22-7-5, and IC 4-22-7-7. The final rules, which are policy statements with the force of law, are codified into the Indiana Administrative Code. The Indiana Register also publishes gubernatorial executive orders, State Attorney General opinions, and various notices.

The IR has only been in existence since 1978 and has always been published monthly and distributed to depository libraries in paper form until about five years ago, when a CD-ROM version of the IR replaced the paper version.

A recent law change now mandates that the IR be electronic only and how an Internet database is the official version. Several questions about an Internet only IR have concerned Indiana librarians.

1. Permanent Access. Will the electronic only IR database retain all documents and be posted indefinitely?

2. Security and authenticity. How secure is the database and is there a method in place to authenticate documents that are posted to it?

3. Citation of the IR. The original method of citation was to be the URL of the document instead of the volume and page as was used in the paper version. Would the URL's remain persistent or would they be subject to change? How practical was a lengthy and cumbersome URL in legal documents?

The official IR database replaced the paper version in July 2006 and some of these concerns have been addressed. With regard to permanent access, IC 4-22-8-2c states "The publisher may meet the requirement to publish the Indiana Register electronically by permanently (emphasis mine) publishing a copy of the Indiana Register on the Internet." It is hoped that the "permanently" refers to always keeping each document archived in perpetuity rather than having a permanent database in which content is removed. According to the IR Database User's Guide, it contains documents from volume 20, 2001 and will continue to archive each year's documents[1].

IR document citation has gotten somewhat easier as URL's have been dropped in favor of Document Identification Numbers, or DIN's. These numbers are still lengthy (ex: 20060726-IR-317050065FRA) but at least they point to a specific document and not a web page address that might change as web pages are shifted or moved in files.

Concerns still remain about other questions, though. While the Legislative Services Agency assures users that the site is secure, the possibility of someone hacking into the database and altering content is real. And there seems to be no method by which documents printed from the site can be authenticated.

Current law, IC 4-22-8-2a, states that the IR is to be a serial publication. The database clearly does not meet that requirement and the courts might be called upon to decide if this will make rules published in IR unenforcable[2]. (Becky Byrum)

[1]User's Guide to the IR Database, <www.in.gov/legislative/iac/faqs.pdf>
[2]Marcia J. Oddi, "General Assembly's Role in Making Indiana Rules and Statues Available to the Public," Res Gestae, July/August 2006, 19-26.

Constitution Day at Indiana State University-As a way of promoting Constitution Day this past Sept 17, I did something a bit different. Earlier I found two "Disappearing Civil Liberties Mugs" in a catalog produced by Acorn Company and ordered them ($21 plus shipping). The Bill of Rights is printed on the outside of each mug and parts of them disappear when hot liquids are poured into the mug. Instead of having a drawing for these mugs, at the beginning of September I put two gift baskets of drinkable/edible goodies containing copies of the Constitution. I displayed them behind our Government Documents Service Desk and at the library's Fall Extravaganza along with ballots and pencils. I also sent word to the two individuals in charge of ISU's American Democracy Project (who mentioned it a "Pizza and Politics" event to hungry students in attendance); one of them is a Political Science professor who mentioned it to her students. Copies of the notice below were set up in several locations within our library, all with a photo of the mug beside it.

In honor of Constitution Day, September 17 (which is on a Sunday this year) a drawing for two gift-baskets will be held at the Government Documents Unit at 2:30 p.m. on September 18. Each gift basket contains a "Disappearing Civil Liberties" mug, 12 oz. of Starbucks coffee, shortbread, and other goodies. To participate, just write your name (you don't have to be a student), phone number, and email address on the ballot provided, and place in the entry box-it's on our service desk, hours being 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Mon-Fri. Good Luck!

We got over 350 entries by afternoon on the 18th (and with wider campus publicity would have had more), and the two winners were happy to stop by and pick up their prizes. (Kathleen Gaul)

 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007