Skip to main content

INDIGO News Volume 11, Number 1 Fall/Winter 2004-2005: Home

INDIGO News

INDIGO News Volume 11, #1 Fall 2004/Winter 2005

Volume 11, #1 Fall/Winter 2004-05

From the Chair: Greetings From Scenic Greencastle-(Kathryn Millis)-As if things weren't already tumultuous enough, this week we reasd that Google's going to scan entire libraries, including some big depositories, and supposedly let everybody read the non-copyrighted materials without charge. Personally, I'm skeptical. There's something weird if LexisNexis & Readex want to charge tens of thousands of dollars for just the Serial Set and Google plans to give it and hundreds and thousands of other non-copyrighted books (many of which will be government documents) free. LexisNexis & Readex are probably even more shocked than we are.

Once the material is scanned, Google may contractually have to let those libraries have copies, but they certainly won't have to let anybody else use it for free. They're going to try to make money off this somehow, sometime. So I suspect most of us won't see this as in any way suggesting we shouldn't continue to work on an official GPO electronic archive, and electronic archives owned by other non-profit groups.

In more immediate matters, next spring's FDLP conference has been scheduled for April 17-20th in Albuquerque, New Mexico. If we're going to have the spring INDIGO meeting on a Friday after that, I assume we'll want to plan on April 29th or May 6th, to avoid conflicts with most folks' commencements. Anybody have a preference or want to volunteer their site?

Re Albuquerque, I took a quick look at airline routes and fare, and when our students come back in January I'll have one of them research fares more and see if they can find better, then send out info on the INDIGO listserv. They'll enjoy the task, as it will be a change of pace from cataloging government documents, shelving government documents, weeding government documents, and dusting and shifting government documents. That way we don't all have to do effectively the same work of researching flights & fares.

No airline flies directly from Indy to Albuquerque. I found that on Saturday the 16th Southwest has flights from Indy to Albuquerque via Phoenix for about $140 (including fees). The downside of that is that the plane leaves Indy at 6 a.m. Travel via Las Vegas leaves at 6:30, but costs $40 more. I'm not sure that at that time of day I think a half hour is worth $40. (I assume flying back will cost about the same; this is one way, not round trip). Flying Southwest trips that start later in the day involve even more stops in even more airports, with even longer layovers. The student will gather other info so each of us who's going can consider the balance of fares & travel times without having to spend as much time searching.

I would be glad to have my student assistants work on some ohter tasks that benefit all INDIGO members. If you have old records of meetings, newsletters, a copy of the INDIGO Policies and Procedures Manual, lists of past members & officers, I would be glad to have out students digitize them & convert them to html so we can make them easier to refer to by posting them on our web site. Feel free to suggest something else.

In other news, I've contacted the Indianapolis Convention & Visitor's Association and asked them to send information on how we go about planning a possible spring 2006 or 2007 Depository Council & FDLP Meeting.

ALA is in Chicago in June. If you need a professional growth opportunity, poster session proposals are due on January 31, 2005. I promoted government documents in a poster I did last year, Cheap Reference Librarians. Anybody want to work together on a poster about or including using government documents? It's a great outreach opportunity to non-depository librarians.

Last for now, I note that INDIGO membership has been pretty stable for the years I've been involved, with several depositories barely participating (if at all). I'm going to try to get some of these folks more involved. Please let me know if you've got any suggestions, arm twisting skills, personal contacts, or blackmail quality dirt on them.

Indiana University-Bloomington News-(Lou Malcomb)-Andrea Singer will be attending the thirtieth annual Koklata Book Fair from January 26-February 6, 2005 in West Bengal, India. Benefits of traveling to book fairs include: seeing firsthand the publishing spectrum, talking with publishers, becoming aware of unusual publications of those difficult to obtain using regular channels, and networking that contributers to collection development in Indiana University libraries.

Indiana Digital Library Summit-(Lou Malcomb)-The Indiana Digital Library Summit continues to meet about every other month. The group has reviewed various documents but most important for INDIGO members to know about is the grant application process. Members hould feel free to review Summit work and its steering committee here. I completed the online Digital Survey for INDIGO, trying to note what members had indicated were important documents for future inclusion in the Indiana Digital Library. I would be very interested in hearing from INDIGO members about any proposals they plan to make for the LSTA grants, especially so I might support these should they arise at future IDL summit meetings. Feel free to contact me if there are any questions malcomb@indiana.edu

Indiana University Libraries News-(Lou Malcomb)-Chris Phillips, our microforms coordinator, transferred to the Life Sciences Library to be their Campus Library Coordinator. GIMSS has just hired Alexis Andronikos. Alexis has worked most recently with the Kelly School of Business, but previously held positions within the National Weather Service and the Fish and Wildlife Service. Feel free to email her with microfirm questions: aandroni@indiana.edu

New resources at IUB include HeritageQuest, which provides electronic access to manuscript census records and other local and family history sources, and the Digital Sanborn Maps, for all 50 states (at IUB; Indiana maps are avaliable at all campuses.) These two resources were used in a history survey course to introduce students to census data, requiring them to find information about Babe Ruth, Al Capone, and other notable individuals as well as their own great or great great grandparents, then put the information into perspective with the growth of American Cities. We have also purchased the electronic edition of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from Lexis-Nexis with coverage ultimately encompassing 1789-1969, but currently covering only through the late 1800s. Last, but not least, we have also subscribed to receive World Bank publications through the World Bank E-Library, with an Interlibrary loan clause in the license so we can still provide these documents to ILL customers. All Indiana residents may use these products ONSITE, i.e. our license agreements include walk-ins and although coming to Bloomington isn't always preferred, it is a way for citizens to gain access to these electronic resources.

Our most exciting news is that IUB has joined a group of Libraries in a grant proposal for a LOCKSS-DOCS project involving government documents. While news about whether the group would get the grant or not will come until February, we are excited about the possibility of working with a born-digital archive project.

Purdue University Libraries News:(Bert-Chapman) New Dean of Libraries Jim Mullins is working on proposals to transition Purdue's decentralized library system of 15 libraries into four interdisciplinary community libraries focusing on liberal arts, business/economics, health/life sciences, and physical science/engineering. More information will be provided as these plans develop and evolve. The Documents Department continues to make gradual progress in its retrospective cataloging initiatives from the mid-1970s to early 1990s. Significant progress has been made cataloging House and Senate Governmental Affairs/Reform Committee hearings and prints, House and Senate Judiciary Commitee hearings and prints, and some Justice Department publications.

A November 2004 analysis of Purdue's cataloged electronic resources revealed that just over 26% of them were government documents and this percentage is likely to increase in the years to come. Exhibits have been prepared for government documents on the federal judiciary, criminal justice, and education. Purdue Libraries have begun receiving Rand Corporation publications on standing order and also receive publications from the European Union's Institute for Security Studies. Bert Chapman's article "Initial Visions of Paradise: Antebellum U.S. Government Documents on the South Pacific" will be published in an upcoming issue of the Journal of Government Information. The article is available "in press" for those libraries subscribing to Elsevier ejournals and focuses primarily on works produced bythe U.S. Exploring Expedition which lasted from 1838-1842.

Valparaiso University Law Library-(Sally Holterhoff) Sally Holterhoff has been elected Vice-President/President-Elect of the American Association of Law Libraries. Her term of office begins in July 2005 and she'll beome AALL President in July 2006. AALL has over 5,000 members and information about the association and its activities is available at www.aallnet.org/

National War College Student Papers
-(Bert Chapman) In an earlier newsletter issue, I profiled student research papers produced at Air University. I now want to focus on these resources as produced at National Defense University's (NDU) National War College (NWC). Accessible here at the Digital Publications section of the NDU Library's website, are a wide variety of papers on numerous military and international security topics produced by U.S. military and civilian policymakers as well as foreign students at the National War College. Examples of recent papers include "Quiet Transformation: The Role of the Office of Net Assessment" (2003), "Indo-US Strategic Relations: From Estrangement to Engagement (2003), "George C. Marshall: The Forgotten Master Strategist (2003-2004?), "United States National Security Strategy: A Hamiltonian Solution for the Iranian Conundrum" (2004), and "So Far From God: The Need for Constructive Reengagement With Columbia" (2004). This NDU Library website provides access to NWC student papers from 1984-present.

Industrial College of the Armed Forces (ICAF) Industry Studies-(Bert Chapman)-The Industrial College of the Armed Forces (ICAF) is also part of NDU. ICAF's institutional purpose is preparing selected military officers and civilians for senior leadership and staff positions by conducting post-graduate research on national security strategy and resource component aspects of national power with emphasis on how acquisition and joint logistics are incorporated into national security strategy. As part of their coursework, ICAF students prepare annual studies of industries whose production covers national security components. These studies are accessible here from 2000-2003 with sample studies from 2003 covering advanced manufacturing, agribusiness, electronics, health care, munitions, strategic supply, transportation, and other topics. ICAF student papers from 1993-1999 are available here in the DIgital Publications section of the NDU Library website. Examples of these papers include "Foreign Outsourcing of the U.S. Electronics Industry: (1993), "Building a Competitive Strategy for the United States Telecommunications and Information Systems Industry" (1995), "Sustaining the Intelligence Industrial Base: Issues and Alternatives" (1995), and "Air Transportation: Elements of a Chaning Environment and What It Means to the Civil Reserve Air Fleet" (1997).



Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007