Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Citation Analysis: Tutorials

Tutorials for Citation Research

Click here to view a tutorial that takes you through the process of doing citation research in Web of Science. 

Click here to view a list of CSA databases that have cited references, including screen shots of how to find them. Examples include BioONE, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, among others.
Click here for a step-by-step tutorial on cited reference searching in EBSCO databases. Databases with citation searcing include CINAHL, Historical Abstracts, and PsycINFO, among others.

Click here for directions on using the Citation Map in HighWire, which displays a graphical representation of the articles citing or cited by your selected article.
Click here to view a tutorial on how to manipulate your search results in ScienceDirect, including a "Cited by" feature for citation searching.

Click here to view a tutorial on citation searching in Scopus.
Click here to view a brief description of the "Cited by" function in PubMed. 

While there is no tutorial for citation searching in Google Scholar, you can use the "Cited by" link at the bottom left of each entry in the results page to see who has cited an item of interest to you. 

Click here for screen shots of cited reference searching from the University of Buffalo Libraries. Screen shots include Web of Science, Google Scholar, Science Direct, CINAHL, Academic Search Premier, Medline in OVID, MathSciNet, SciFinder Scholar, ACM Digital Libraries, and IEEE Explore.

Tutorials for Creating Email Alerts

Click here for a video on setting up email alerts in Proquest databases.
Click here for a tutorial on setting up email alerts in EBSCO databases.

Click here for directions on setting up email alerts in Highwire Press, using CiteTrack.

Click here for a tutorial on how to use alerts in Science Direct.

Attribution

Much of the content of this guide is based on a guide created at University of Michigan Library and which can be viewed here. Thank you to the group that created that guide and allowed us to make use of the content for our own guide.

Tell us what you think!

Did you find what you needed from this page?

Tell us what you think!
Yes, it was everything I expected.: 0 votes (0%)
Yes, but I would have liked tutorials from other databases.: 0 votes (0%)
No, I expected to find something completely different.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0