Skip to main content

HIST 361 Violence, War & Militarism in Modern Africa: Databases and Journals

Provides access to diplomatic, military, and political information on this topic from governmental and non-governmental sources.

Databases and Journals

Purdue Libraries subscribes to numerous databases providing links to articles on African military developments.  Examples of these include:

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (Provides citations to articles from military science journals)
Historical Abstracts (Indexes articles from scholarly history journals for Africa, Asia, Europe, and Latin America)
LexisNexis Academic (Provides access to a wide variety of U.S. and international newspaper articles)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Provides access to articles from numerous political science journals)

Selected Military Science Journals

Air and Space Power Journal (Published by U.S. Air Force's Air University-Also features Africa/Francophonie edition)
Joint Force Quarterly (Published by National Defense University)
Military Review (Published by U.S. Army Command & General Staff College-Fort Leavenworth, KS)
Naval War College Review (Published by U.S. Naval War College)
Parameters (Professional journal published by the U.S. Army War College)
Scientia Militaria:  South Africa Journal of Military Studies (Published by Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
South African Crime Quarterly (Published by Institute for Security Studies, Pretoria, South Africa)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007