Skip to main content

Primary Sources in Archives & Special Collections: Visiting ASC

Identifying and locating primary sources in the Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center.

Contact Information

Address:

Archives and Special Collections
Humanities, Social Science, and Education Library
Stewart Center, 4th Floor
504 W. State Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907

HSSE

Phone: (765) 494-2839

Email: archives@purdue.edu

For contact information of archival staff, visit the employee directory.

Exhibits

Exhibits are on display at the Archives throughout the year.  Please stop in to visit the exhibits and learn more about the history of Purdue University.  Visit our exhibits page for more information about ongoing as well as past exhibits.

Visiting the Karnes Archives and Special Collections

The Virginia Kelly Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center serves not only Purdue University students, faculty, and staff but any researcher interested in the rare and unique materials housed within the Archives and Special Collections.  Please contact the Archives with any questions regarding university history or the collections.  Persons interested in visiting the Archives to conduct research are encouraged to make an appointment, allowing at least 24 hours advance notice to give staff time to prepare materials for use.

Using the Archives

Unlike a library, materials in archives are not made available for browsing by the public.  Due to the unique, rare, and often fragile nature of the materials, procedures are in place to ensure the security and longevity of the collections.  Whether a first-time visitor or a returning researcher, reviewing the policies of the archives is recommended. Please note that to protect the valuable collections, food and drink are not allowed in the archives.

Upon arrival, new researchers are required to complete a registration form.  All researchers must provide a photo ID; this will be kept by staff until the researcher completes his or her visit.  The researcher will be asked to place any bags, coats, and other personal belongings into a locker.  Only pencils, paper, digital cameras, and mobile devices are permissible in the reading room.

Once seated, the reference archivist will give instruction on proper use of the material as well as any special treatment necessary for the item or items selected.  The reference archivist will remain in the reading room to provide any assistance.  Scans and photocopies of materials are available in most cases for a small fee.  Researchers interested in photographing items must receive permission.  Alert the reference archivist if interested in any reproductions. Copies are provided for personal research use only and may not be published without permission.

For a complete list of policies and procedures for researchers, please visit the Archives and Special Collections website for more information.

Archives Hours

The Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center is open Monday through Friday, 10:00am - 4:30pm during the Fall and Spring semesters.

For complete semester hours of the archives and all university libraries, including holidays and breaks, visit here.

Find Us Online