Skip to main content

Primary Sources in Archives & Special Collections: ASC Overview

Identifying and locating primary sources in the Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center.

Overview of the Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center

Lawrence E. and Janet M. Hiler Reading Room

Reading Room

The mission of the Purdue University Libraries Archives and Special Collections unit is to support the discovery, learning, and engagement goals of Purdue University by identifying, collecting, preserving, and making available for research records and papers of enduring value created or received by the University and its employees.

Some of our collections include Purdue publications, departmental newsletters and reports, photos of campus events and buildings, newspaper articles on the University's activities, events, faculty, staff, and programs, unique archival and manuscript materials, and rare book collections.

Karnes Staff Directory


Morris, Sammie

Head of Archives and Special Collections,
University Archivist
Associate Professor of Library Science
(765) 494-2839
Bernier, Richard Processing and Public Services Archivist (765) 494-9040
Dearborn, Carly Digital Preservation and Electronic Records Archivist (765) 494-6766
Fausett, Gene Ann Library Operations Manager for Archives and Special Collections (765) 496-2787
Grimm, Tracy Barron Hilton Archivist for Flight and Space Exploration (765) 496-2941
Harmeyer, Neal Digital Archivist (765) 496-7851
Hovde, David Research and Instruction Librarian
Associate Professor of Library Science
(765) 494-2833
Schmitz, Stephanie

France A. Cordova Women's Archivist

(765) 494-2904
Sego, Mary Archives and Special Collections Assistant (765) 494-2636
Sharp, Maureen Collections Conservator (765) 494-2819

Contact Us

Reception Desk Phone: (765) 494-2839

Reference Desk E-Mail:

Reference Mail:
Archives and Special Collections
Purdue University Libraries - SPEC
504 W State St
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2058

Web Site: