Research Guides: HDFS 330: Sexuality and Family Life: Home

Why cite your sources?

Why cite?
Tutorial from the University of Rhode Island.

TUTORIAL: Basics of APA form APA

Basics of APA Style
This is a 23 minute tutorial, but it is broken down into about 20 different short sections.

Citing & Writing Help from OWL

How to avoid plagiarism
Tips on how to summarize, paraphrase, and quote sources without plagiarizing.
APA Formatting & Style
A thorough overview of APA style. Check out the links on the left side of the page for examples on citing different kinds of sources.
How to write an annotated blbiography
Print instructions, a video tutorial, and an example.
How to write an annotation or abstract
A video tutorial and an example.

Welcome!

This page has been tailored for HDFS 330: Human Sexuality and Family Life.

Find Articles by using Databases

Use the databases below to find scholarly and popular articles. Each one has a different focus, so read the brief descriptions below before searching.

Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Indexes literature on the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Covers journal articles, book reviews, technical reports, book chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Social Sciences Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.

In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Find Demographic Data

U.S. Census Bureau Census Data This link opens in a new window
U.S. Census Bureau resource providing data about the American people, places, and economy on national, state, and local levels relying on user feedback to achieve incremental progress.

Demographic data, by topic, from the U.S. Census Bureau.

American Factfinder Factfinder.census.gove by U.S. Census Bureau
Publication Date: 2009

Some Key HDFS Journals

Are your database search results too overwhelming or not really relevant to your topic? Try searching in one of the HDFS journals below. If you're off-campus, you may be prompted to log-in with your career account.

Creating an Effective Search Strategy

Check out this 3-minute video for tips on better searching.

Database Search Demo

Google Scholar Search Demo

Search Google Scholar

If you're off-campus, click Off Campus Guide to eResources - Google Scholar for info on how to link to full-text (full articles) online through Purdue Libraries.

Search Google

Remember to try an Advanced Google Search to limit the domain to .gov for U.S. government websites.