VCS 603: Introduction to Clinical Research, Trials and Translation Research

Citation management software, also known as bibliographic management software or citation managers, can help you manage and organize your citations and format bibliographies and footnotes in your papers. Includes guides to EndNote, EndNote Web, and Zotero.

EndNote is a desktop software designed to help store and organize bibliographic references in the "libraries" (collections) on user's own computer equipment. Purdue users can purchase this software at an academic rate. See this guide for more details.

EndNote Web is an online citation management application that can help you to organize your research material, including journal articles, into your own online mini database. It is FREE to all Purdue users and there is no software to purchase.

Zotero is a free citation management program that helps you collect and easily organize your research information. Learning how to use citation management software can improve the efficiency of your research and save you hundreds of hours with papers that you'll write in the future! This guide provides more detail.

Find more citation styles in the Zotero Style Repository.

A tutorial on the fundamentals of this free web-based citation management tool by the Oregon State University Libraries

A guide by Jason Puckett, the author of Zotero: a Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators [2011] and a librarian at Georgia State University Library. Includes install instructions for Firefox, for Zotero Standalone if Safari or Chrome are preferred, and for using Zotero on an iPad browser.

BrowZine is a free app that lets you browse, read and monitor the latest journals via your iPhone, iPad or Android tablet. You can easily save articles to Zotero, etc.