Skip to main content

Standards Resources: Indiana Codes

This is a basic subject guide to standards series that are paid by subscriptions, individual purchase, or free.

Information Assistance

If you need assistance determining whether the library has access to a specific standard, please call the Libraries' Information Desk at 494-2873. You may also use the Libraries' Ask A Librarian service.

Specific standards not owned by Purdue may be requested via the Engineering Library's Purchase Request

 

Indiana's Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission

A complete list of all Indiana Codes is outlined on Codes, Standards and Other Rules from the Fire Prevention & Building Safety Commission/Code Services of the Indiana Department of Homeland Security.  A flow chart describes how the rules and changes are adopted. 

For questions about Indiana Codes, contact Craig Burgess, State Building Commissioner.

There were several mentions of the proposed and adopted code in the Indiana Register (IR) before and after it was adopted. On August 17, 2015, there was a a posting of the 2014 Indiana Building Code [which works with the 2012 International Building Code] with notice of its effective date in December 2014.

Next, the code is added to the Indiana Administrative Code (IAC).  According to Staff members from Legal and Code Services corrections may continue for a few months after it is added to the IAC.

Three other codes were also adopted in December 2014.  These include the Indiana Mechanical Code, Indiana Fire Code, and Indiana Fuel Gas Code.  

Indiana Codes, Standards and Other Rules

Indiana's Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission maintains Codes, Standards and Other Rules that are used in Indiana.  The list arranged by topic includes a citation to the Indiana Administrative Code (IAC), Title (related code), and Dates (effective, amended (if any) and repealed (if applicable).  

For example:  

675 IAC 16-1.4         Indiana Plumbing Code, 2012 ed.             Effective 12/24/12

Sometimes the related international code is not on the list but is mentioned in the Indiana code.       

The full text of the Indiana Code is contained in the IAC.

Open the IAC link and find the IAC Cite box in the lower left-hand column.

Search for 675 IAC 16.

When reading the Indiana Plumbing Code, 2012 ed. in 675 IAC 16, use Find to go to 16-1.4. You notice that the International Plumbing Code, 2006 edition is mentioned. The two codes are used together with differences mentioned in the Indiana Plumbing Code.

The full-text of the International Plumbing Code, 2006 ed. is not available in the IAC. Purdue users will find it in the Specifications and Standards Database as an ICC code.  Others may purchase the code separately.

Indiana Codes Available on the Web on May 9, 2016

The Indiana codes are used with many international codes.  These ICC documents are available to Purdue users through the Specifications and Standards Database (IHS Standards Expert). If other standards are needed, ask for help at the Engineering Library's Information Desk or  phone 494-2873.

This is a partial list of Indiana Codes

Indiana Building Code - Full Text  (Effective December 1, 2014)  - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-13-2.6). Based on 2012 International Building Code,1st printing, with 2014 Indiana Amendments. Also uses ANSI A117.1-2009.  [New version]

Indiana Electrical Code - Full Text  (Effective July 27, 2009) - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-17-1.8). Based on NFPA 70 - 2008 National Electrical Code, 1st printing.  Electronic access to NFPA 70 - 2008 is available to Purdue users through the database IHS Standards Expert.

Indiana Fire Code - Full Text (Effective December 1, 2014) - Indiana Administrative Code (75-IAC-22-2.5). Based on 2012 International Fire Code, 1st printing, with 2014 Indiana Amendments. [New version]

Indiana Fuel Gas Code - Full Text  (Effective December 1, 2014) - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-25-3), Based on 2012 International Fuel Gas Code, 1st printing, [New version]

Administrative Rules for Industrialized Building Systems and Mobile Structure Systems - Full Text  (Effective September 17, 2005) - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-15-1.1 through 15-1.7)

Indiana Mechanical Code - Full Text  (Effective December 1, 2014)  - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-18-1.6). Based on 2012 International Mechanical Code,1st printing. [New version]

Indiana Energy Conservation Code - Full Text (Effective May 6, 2010)  - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-19-4). Based on ASHRAE 90.1 - 2007, as amended, Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings. (Note: Engineering Library has a print copy of ASHRAE 90.1-2007 [Standards TJ163.5.B84 A452 2007]

Indiana Plumbing Code - Full Text  (Effective December 30, 2012) - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-16-1.4). Based on 2006 International Plumbing Code, 2nd printing.

Indiana Residential Code - Full Text (2005 edition, last ameded April 15, 2012) - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-14-4.3). Based on 2003 International Residential Code (5th printing)

Indiana Safety Code for Elevators, Escalators, Man Lifts and Hoists - Full Text  (Effective April 13, 2011) - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-21). Based on many ANSI/ASME standards.  Note: Various sections are amended and effective while others are repealed. Read carefully.

Migrant Day Care Nursery Fire Safety Code - Full Text  (Effective October 11, 2001)  - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-24-1). The purpose of this code is to establish minimum fire safety requirements for migrant day care nurseries. This code, combined with the rules of the department of public welfare (470 IAC), and the rules of the state board of health (410 IAC) forms the complete package of regulations for migrant day care nurseries.

Subject Guide

Margaret Phillips's picture
Margaret Phillips
Contact:
3053P WALC
765-494-3649
Website / Blog Page