Skip to main content

POL 300 Introduction to Political Analysis: Internet Resource Guides

POL 300 Introduction to Political Analysis

Internet Resource Guides

Internet Resource Guides
Purdue Library Subject Guides
-Provides subject links to various resources including political science and research centers.
Purdue Political Science Department
Purdue Libraries Government Documents Department-Provides access to government agency resources from U.S. Government agencies, state government and Indiana local governments, foreign and international government organizations, statistical resources, and research guides.

Major Publishers
Congressional Information Service (CIS)
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Pres, especially CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Weekly Report, and Congressional Quarterly Almanac.

Worldcat-Closest equivalent to a global online library catalog. Covers most major U.S. and Canadian libraries and many international libraries. Features libraries holdings information for books, journals, dissertations, and audiovisual resources. Provides links to a growing number of cataloged Internet resources.

Associations Unlimited Provides information about professional associations which are often producers of grey or fugitive scholarly literature which may not be indexed by traditional databases or acquired systematically by libraries. Helpful for think tank produced literature.

Contemporary Authors Provides biographical information about nonfiction and fiction authors and has a politics/government category.

Bibliographies and Selected Reference Works
Guide to Reference Books. Robert Balay, ed. HSSE REF Desk 016 M88g 1996
International Bibliography of Political Science HSSE Periodicals 016.320 In8
International Bibliography of Sociology HSSE REF 016.305 In8
Social Compass HSSE Periodicals 305 So108
Current Sociology HSSE Periodicals 305 C94
Chad M. Kahl. International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. HSSE 016.3203 K12li 2008
Jan Wepsiec. Sociology: An International Bibliography of Serial Publications HSSE 016.30105 W49s
Henry E. York. Political Science: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. HIKS REPO 016.32 Yo82p 1990

Selected Books
Almanac of American Politics HSSE REF 328.73005 AL62
America Votes HSSE REF 324.73 AM3 Excellent resource for presidential, U.S. Senate, U.S. House, and gubernatorial election results.
CQ's State Fact Finder. HSSE REF and UGRL 317.305 V365

Encyclopedia of Political Science 5 vols. HSSE REF JA61.E513 2011
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). (University of Michigan compilation of data sets and studies)
International Encylopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. HSSE REF 300.3 In75 2001
Gary King and Lynn Ragsdale. The Elusive Executive: Discovering Statistical Patterns in the Presidency. HSSE 353.081 K582e
CQ's Politics in America HSSE REF DEsk 328.73073025 C7605
Statistical Abstract of the United States HSSE REF Desk and Periodicals 317.3 St27  HERE for 2013-present
 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007