Skip to main content

Government Documents on Western U.S. History: U.S. Government Internet

Government Documents on Western U.S. History

U.S. Government Internet

Various executive branch agencies also produce publications relevant to Western American history. These agencies and their general SuDoc numbers include:

Territorial Papers of the United States 

GovInfo  Provides access to federal legal, legislative, and regulatory information sources 1994/95-present.

HathiTrust Catalog (Selected resources from multiple research libraries)

Decennial Censuses (Through 1979) HIKS REPO 317.3 C7 & 317.3 C 12 & online 1790-Present
Historical U.S. Census Browser(1790-1960)Courtesy-University of Virginia Library
1980 Census-present HSSE REPO C 3.223:
1990 & 2000 Census HSSE REPO C 3.223 and online through the Census Bureau website
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers HSSE DOC & ENGR D 103
Bureau of Indian Affairs HSSE DOC & HIKS Repository I 20
National Park Service History & Culture(most in HSSE) HSSE DOC I 29
National Park Service History Series HSSE DOC I 29.58/2:
Historic American Buildings Survey HSSE DOC I 29.74:
Bureau of Reclamation ENGR & HIKS Repository I 27
Bureau of Land Management HSSE DOC & LIFE I 53
Bureau of Land Management Digital Photo Library
Foreign Relations of the United States HSSE Periodicals 327.73 Un32
Index to Agency Records Groups & Collections (National Archives)

National Archives Riverside, California
National Archives San Francisco, California
National Archives Denver, Colorado
National Archives Fort Worth, Texas
National Archives Seattle, Washington
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections
Western Waters Digital Library

Yellowstone National Park Archives

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007