Skip to main content

Government Documents on Northeastern U.S. History: U.S. Government Internet

Government Documents on Northeastern U.S. History

U.S. Govt. Internet

Internet Resources

Although only a small portion of the historical literature produced by the U.S. Government and U.S. state governments is Internet accessible, a significant and growing body of historical documentary material has been digitized. A limited portion of this digitizing has been done by U.S. Government agencies such as the Library of Congress and, in selected instances, by northeastern state government agencies. The following is a partial sampling of the growing variety of historical government information resources and finding aids on northeastern history that is Internet acessible:

American Memory Project (Library of Congress project providing access to a wide variety of digitized U.S. History resources. American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920 from the Harvard Graduate Design School and Revolutionary Era Maps 1750-1789 are relevant northeastern history resources.)
A Century of Lawmaking for the New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates 1774-1875
National Archives & Records Administration
Historical Census Browser (Courtesy University of Virginia Library, this resource includes access to decennial census data from 1790-1960.)

Census Bureau & Census of Population & Housing 1790-Present

GovInfo (FDSYS)(Federal legal, legislative, and regulatory information sources 1994/95-present)

HathiTrust Catalog (Selected resources from CIC institutions)

Massachusetts Electronic Atlas (Courtesy-Harvard Geospatial Library)
U.S. Coast & Geodetic Survey Annual Reports (Online 1852-1950) HIKS Repository C 4.1 (1851-1955)
New York State Gazetteer and Geodata Collection (Courtesy-SUNY Buffalo Library)
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825 (Courtesy Tufts University & American Antiquarian Society)

National Archives Washington, DC

National Archives College Park, MD

National Archives Pittsfield, Massachusetts

National Archives Waltham, Massachusetts

National Archives Lees Summit, Missouri

National Archives New York City
National Archives Philadelphia
National Park Service History & Culture
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections

Index to Agency  Records Groups (National Archives) 

War Department Papers (1784-1800)(Courtesy-George Mason University)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007