Skip to main content

Government Documents on 19th Century U.S. History: U.S. Government Internet

19th Century U.S. History

U.S. Govt. Internet

Digital Resources
National Archives & Records Administration
U.S. Historical Census Data Browser (Courtesy-University of Virginia Library)
U.S. Army Center for Military History
U.S. Army Military History Institute-U.S. Army War College
Naval History  & Heritage Command

Account of the Receipts and Expenditures of the United States (Treasury Dept.)
Official Register of the United States (Treasury Dept. Directory of U.S. Govt. officials and their salaries.)
United States Sanitary Commission

Abraham Lincoln Papers-(Courtesy Library of Congress American Memory Project)
American Memory Project-(Courtesy Library of Congress)
William Henry Harrison Papers (Courtesy-Indiana Historical Society)

Marine Corps History Division
Governor Morton (IN) Civil War Telegraph Books-(Courtesy IUPUI Library Digital Collections and Indiana State Archives)
National Archives & Records Administration
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Purdue Users Only-Features foreign affairs documents and reports of exploring expeditions)
Measuring Worth (Non-governmental data set calcuatling purchasing power of U.S. dollar and other national currencies.)
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825 (Courtesy Tufts University & American Antiquarian Society)
National Park Service History & Culture
State Department-Office of the Historian

Principal Officers and Chiefs of Mission
(Lists U.S. ambassadors to foreign countries and their service dates.)

Smithsonian Institution
Smithsonian National Museum of American History Archives Center

Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections
United States Exploring Expedition 1838-1842
(Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007