Skip to main content

Government Documents on Military History: U.S. Government Internet

Government Documents on Military History

U.S. & State Government Internet Sources

 

Large volumes of U.S. Government military history information can be found on the
Internet. A masterlist of government information resources on the WWW can be
found HERE

GovInfo   is an excellent source for current and
recent legislative, legal, and regulatory information such as congressional bills,
committee reports, legislative status information, and the Federal Register..

Additional U.S. Government military and military-related WWW sites include:

American Battle Monuments Commission  

Conflict Records Research Center (Courtesy-National Defense University)

HathiTrust Catalog (Selected digitized research library records) 

Reports of Military Observers Attached to the Armies in Manchuria During the Russo-Japanese War (Courtesy-Yale University Library)

Historical Government Publications from World War II: A Digital Library (Courtesy-Southern Methodist University Library)

Historical Office of the Secretary of Defense

World War II Poster Collection (Courtesy-Northwestern University Library)

State Dept. Undersecretary for Arms Control & International Security

U.S. Dept. of Defense

Historical Office of the Secretary of Defense

 

 Defense Dept. and Armed Services Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Resources

U.S. Army & Combined Arms Research Library (Features historical analyses and student theses from the Army's Command & General Staff College)

 

Donovan Research Library Digitized Monograph Collection (Fort Benning)-Infantry perspectives & after action reports on 20th century military operations.

Center of Military History

Army History Magazine

U.S. Army Heritage & Education Center-Army War College

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Combat Studies Institute Press (Command & General Staff College)

U.S. Air Force

Air Force Historical Research Agency

Air Force History Index (Searchable database of historic Air Force documents. Provides information on how to obtain full text copies of these documents.)

 

Air Force Historical Studies Office

Air University Press

National Museum of the U.S. Air Force

Joint Special Operations University Publications

U.S. Marine Corps

Marine Corps History & Museums Division

Marine Corps University Press

National Museum of the Marine Corps

National Park Service Civil War Sesquicentennial Commemoration

U.S. Navy

National Museum of the U.S. Navy

Naval History & Heritage Command

Naval War College Press

Nimitz Gray Book Collection   (Courtesy-Naval War College-Features 8 volumes worth of documents describing Pacific Ocean military naval developments during World War II.)
 

Pictures of Navy Ships-Courtesy National Archives

Dept. of Homeland Security

Dept. of Veterans Affairs

National Archives & Records Administration

Pentagon Papers-Courtesy:  National Archives

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Purdue Users Only!)

Defense Dept. Inspector General

 

 

Index to Agency Record Groups (National Archives) 

Indiana American Legion Mall

Indiana Civil War Sesquicentennial Committee (Also provides links to other state civil war sesquicentennial websites.)

Indiana Soldiers & Sailors Monument

Indiana War Memorial

USS Indianapolis Memorial

United States Sanitary Commission

War Department Papers 1784-1800 (Courtesy-George Mason University)

Historic Military Publications e.g. General Orders (Courtesy-Army Heritage Collection Online-U.S. Army War College)

Rumsfeld Papers (Courtesy-Donald Rumsfeld)

The Great Plains During World War II (Non-governmental)

Tuskegee Airmen (Courtesy-University of South Alabama Library)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007