Skip to main content

Government Documents on Military History: Reference Sources

Government Documents on Military History

Key Reference Sources

Journal article databases useful for finding scholarly information on miiltary history include:

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (Collaborative venture between Air University's Fairchild Library and the Defense Technical Information Center)>

America:  History and Life (Features literature from U.S. and Canadian history publications)

America's Historical Newspapers(Early American Newspapers, 6&7) (Features 215 searchable newspapers from 27 states and Washington, DC from 1741-1922)

Civil War Collection (6 part collection of U.S. Civil War era newspapers including regimental histories and regional newspaper published between 1860-1865))

Fold3  (Ancestry.com resource providing primary source military history information.  Registration required. Some features require payment)
Historical Abstracts (Features scholarly historical literature for areas outside the U.S. and Canada from 1450-present)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Features articles from major newspapers covering various dates including the Chicago Tribune, Indianapolis Star, New York Times, Wall Street Journal etc.

 

 

World Military Expenditures & Arms Transfers 

 

 

 

 

 

 

U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey Reports: European War (Selected rpts. online) HIKS Repository W 1.71:
U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey Reports: Pacific Theatre (Selected rpts. online) HIKS Repository W 1.71/2:
Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships HSSE 359 Un3d
HSSE DOC D 207.10:1/
U.S. Naval Aviation 1910-1955 (CD-ROM) HSSE D 221.18:Av 5/CD

Gulf War Airpower Survey

(Once here, scroll down to "The Gulf War"-Features a summary & 5 volumes)

HSSE DOC D 301.2:G 95
Official Records War of the Rebellion: Army (Courtesy-
Cornell University Library)
HIKS Repository W 45.5:
(also in CD-ROM HSSE REF)
Official Records War of the Rebellion: Navy (Courtesy-
Cornell University Library)
HIKS Repository N 16.6:

Official Register of the United States (Lists the names and salaries of U.S. Govt. publications for selected years between 1829-1959)

Measuring Worth (University of Illinois-Chicago resource calculating consumer prices and purchasing power for the U.S. dollar from 1774-present.  Also covers British pound and Australian dollar.)

Foreign Relations of the United States HSSE Periodicals 327.73 Un32 & HSSE MF S 1.1 and here (Courtesy-University of Wisconsin Library for coverage from 1863-1958. This is the official edited documentary record of U.S. foreign policy.)

Defense Appropriation and Military Construction Appropriation Laws (Courtesy-Pentagon Library)(From Fiscal Year 1961-present with military construction from Fiscal Year 1983-present)(Note:  Some of the older versions of these laws only accessible to Pentagon Library users.  Check with Bert Chapman for alternative means of accessing these laws.)

Pentagon Papers (Declassified by the National Archives in 2011.  Features controversial documents on U.S. military involvement in Vietnam.

National Archive Air Force Records 
and HERE

National Archives Office of Secretary of Defense Records

National Archives Secretary of War Records

National Archives Marine Corps Records

National Archives Navy Dept. Records 1789-1947 and here 1947-present

Naval Documents of the American Revolution

U.S. Military Academy Atlases  (Maps of U.S. military conflicts)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007