Skip to main content

Government Documents on American Indians: US Government

Research guide for government documents on American Indians

U.S. Government

Other sources of federal government information on American Indians include:

Hathi Trust Catalog (Selected Records from multiple research libraries)

Agriculture Dept. Office of Tribal Relations

Census Bureau American Indians & Alaska Natives

Decennial Population Census 1790-2010

National Archives Native American Records

American Indian Environmental Office (EPA)

Hathitrust Catalog-Selected State Government Documents 

Homeland Security Dept. Tribal Desk

Contributions of American Indians to the U.S. Navy (Courtesy-Naval History & Heritage Command)
Indian Health Service (Features links to various American Indian websites including tribal governments)
Dept. of Energy Office of Indian Energy Policy & Programs
Dept. of Housing & Urban Development-Office of Public & Indian Housing
U.S. Dept. of the Interior
Interior Dept. Indian Trust Site

Bureau of Indian Affairs

BIA National Archives Records

Bureau of Land Management

Indian Arts & Crafts Board

National Archives Indian Arts & Crafts Board Records

Labor Dept. Division of Indian & Native Affairs Programs (DINAP)

National Park Service
U.S. Dept. of Justice-Office of Tribal Justice

Smithsonian Institution

Smithsonian National Archives Records

Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletins (Selected)
Indian Claims Commission National Archives Records
Native American Repatriation Review Committee
National Indian Gaming Commission
National Museum of the American Indian
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection-(Courtesy-University of Washington Library)

Indian Treaties (Courtesy-Oklahoma State University Library)
Southern Oregon Digital Archives First Nations Collection (Courtesy-Southern Oregon University Library)
Middle Ground: Govt. Reports & Documents on U.S. Government Relations With the Navajo (Courtesy-University of Northern Colorado Library

Indian Land Cessions in the U.S, 1784-1894 Congressional Serial Set #4015

Transportation Dept. Federal Highway Administration Tribal Transportation Planning 

Internal Revenue Service-Tax Information for Indian Tribal Governments

Veterans Affairs Dept. Center for Minority Veterans

 
   
 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007