Skip to main content

EndNote - Desktop version: Finding Full Text Links

This guide highlights the unique features of EndNote (desktop version).

EndNote and EndNote Web Contact Librarians

NAME 

 SUBJECT AREA

Natasha Johnson Math
Hal Kirkwood Management, Economics,   Ag Econ, HTM, CSR
Judy Nixon  Education, Liberal Arts, Human Development & Family Studies
Megan Sapp Nelson Engineering, Technology
Amy Van Epps Science, Engineering,  Technology
David Zwicky   Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Materials Engineering

Activating EndNote for Full-Text (OpenURL) Linking

To activate the find Full Text option for EndNote you need to configure EndNote to Purdue's OpenURL service.

  • Start EndNote
  • Go to the top menu and choose Edit --> Preferences

Step 1:

  • Select "Find Full Text" from the list of preferences

 

  • Select the check box to enable the "OpenURL" link
  • In the "OpenURL Path" box, enter:
    • ‚Äčhttp://purdue-primo-prod.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/PURDUE/purdue_services_page
  • Under "Authenticate with:" enter: http://ezproxy.lib.purdue.edu/login

 

Step 2:

  • Select "URLs & Links" from the list of preferences

 

 

  • In the OpenURL Arguments field, change the part that states ISI:WoS to "ISI:endnote" (see above). That's it!

To find full-text articles, first you must authenticate yourself as a Purdue.  Go to References --> Find Full Text --> Authenticate…  (If you forget this step, EndNote will automatically ask for you.)

Enter your Purdue Career Account information.  Once that is accepted, you may close the authentication window.

Then, select all of the articles you want to try and find full-text for, and go to the top menu and select:  References --> Find Full Text --> Find Full Text…

EndNote will begin going through each citation systematically, attempting to download the full-text.  The status of the search will be displayed in the lower left of your folders area.  Example: 

 

 EndNote Find Full Text status example