History Resources: Online Encyclopedias

As the history librarian, I collaborate and consult both with faculty and students affiliated with the History Department and with others who are doing historical research. I teach classes and workshops and provide one-on-one research consultations in-person and via email. I also purchase new books, journals, multimedia, and online research sources. Browse this library guide to learn about library collections and other scholarly resources that are relevant for your research.

Historical research can produce controversy as this article "The Case for Colonialism" in the October 2017 Third World Quarterly demonstrates. This guide provides access to a multiple variety of historical research information resources, I hope you find useful and enable to you produce impactful research findings.

Contact me if you are not sure how to start or need help researching your particular topic:  Email:  chapmanb@purdue.edu. I look forward to working with you.

Encyclopedias can:

1) serve as catalogs of research topics

2) provide search terms to use in databases.

• Credo Reference: full text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

• Gale Virtual Reference Library: full text of hundreds of encyclopedias---or search a single title or multiple e-book titles by keyword, title, ISBN, or full text. Emphasis on Liberal Arts content

• Oxford Reference Online: full text of a huge number of language and subject reference works from one of the world's most trusted reference publishers in a single, cross-searchable resource. By clicking on "History" in the list under "Subject Reference"---or by clicking on Advanced Search---you can designate resources only for history.