Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

African American Studies: Online Resources

A guide to help you research topics in African American Studies in the BCC Library and Purdue University Libraries.

African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection

From the Library of Congress American Memory site. 
Primary documents in African American history and culture. Includes pamphlets from authors such as Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and Ida B. Wells.

African American Odyssey

From the Library of Congress American Memory site.
Incredible collection of rare books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, photos, films, and recordings documenting the African American experience.

The Crisis

Founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the official publication of the NAACP, this journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color. For nearly 100 years, The Crisis has been the magazine of opinion and thought leaders, decision makers, peacemakers and justice seekers. It has chronicled, informed, educated, entertained and, in many instances, set the economic, political and social agenda for our nation and its multi-ethnic citizens.

Directory of Online Resources for the Study of African American Studies

Sections include: digital publications, historic African Americans, Martin Luther King, Jr., Slavery, Civil War, civil rights movement, jazz, museums, and teaching resources.

The History Makers
The HistoryMakers
is single largest archival collection of its kind in the world.  The goal is to complete 5,000 interviews of both well-known and unsung African American HistoryMakers.  In doing so, we want to include the stories of individual African Americans along with those of African American organizations, events, movements and periods of time that are significant to the African American community.  The HistoryMakers is the next methodic and wide-scale collection effort since the WPA Slave Narratives Project.

Philosophy Born of the Struggle Conference Records

These records document the Philosophy Born of Struggle Conference, an annual conference relating to the African American philosophy movement. Conference programs, abstracts, speakers, lectures, interviews, and publicity are included. Types of materials include brochures, flyers, other printed material, and video DVDs.

To access PBS conference and interview recordings: http://earchives.lib.purdue.edu/cdm/search/collection/msp194

The Sonja Haynes Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History Guide to the Web
This searchable guide to over 600 websites is also browsable by 30 subject categories; it is from the Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hilll and is managed by the center's library, part of the UNC library system.