Skip to main content

Big6EngineeringResources: Finding Articles

Central portal for the main engineering resources available through the Purdue Libraries

Overview

In the academic sphere, journal articles and conference proceedings are the standard unit of scientific communication. 

Most of this information is not freely available, but rather only accessible through library subscriptions.  One way to find and access information is to consult library databases called indexes to the literature.

There are several databases that specialize in different kinds of literature within engineering, aimed for different audiences. 

Google Scholar also focuses on scholarly information, although it can be more difficult to limit by subject with that index.  If you do use Google Scholar, you can create direct links to our library's subscriptions of online journals by configuring the Scholar preferences. 

Important Databases in Engineering

There are two main ways to search for journal articles, by subject and by tracing citations.  The first two databases are subject indexes, while the last two are citation focused.  Citation searching allows you to track the progress of ideas by seeing who cited particular articles.

There are many more databases available, and you can always ask a librarian if you would like advice on the best place to search for information on your topic.  

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

To enable linking to Purdue full-text journal articles through Google Scholar, click on 'Settings' at the top of the screen.

Then select 'Library Links' from the left hand side of the screen.

Finally, type in 'Purdue' into the search box and select the appropriate option 'Purdue University Libraries - Full Text at Purdue'. 

When you want to access a subscription-based article, this will route you through the Libraries authentication system.  Entering your Career account login, will enable you to access the full-text of an article.