This alternative health research database provides the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the university level.
Collections included: Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945; County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Indiana; International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues; Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
biographical database offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Drawn from the various subject areas that combine to make biomedical science a distinct discipline, this eBook collection includes resources in bioinformatics, epidemiology, neuroscience, and more. It provides professionals and resources with the up-to-the-minute information they need to make themselves familiar with data mining and advance their work and the state of science.
Searchable database of the rare and unique pamphlets from the personal library of the Brazilian diplomat, historian, and journalist Manoel de Oliveira Lima. Database allows users to visualize results and term frequencies over time and to limit their search by dates, illustration types, and languages.
Contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials dating from roughly 1120-1900. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript (note: the text of the manuscripts is not full-text searchable).
BrowZine works by organizing the articles available through Purdue University Libraries, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across disciplines.
Cairn.info (French Studies Bouquet) This collection of 127 French and Belgian journals covers the arts, history, literature, linguistics, philosophy, political science, sociology and culture. Coverage: Varies; 2001 – current.
18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers of interest to those studying Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery and more. A comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
Searchable, browseable research environment containing the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs--approximately half a million pages and over 90 years of research, analysis and commentary. Includes subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs. Users have access to the full-text of Chatham House's publications and audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.
A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in, or about, China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949 when the People’s Republic of China was founded. Coverage: 1817-1949
Charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power, this collection provides a wide variety of primary source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists – and documents many of the key events that happened in this period
Important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British Government. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. The multilingual health databases provide this information in 16 additional languages.
A collection of language corpora that includes the Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA), Corpus of Historical American English (COHA), Global Web-Based English (GloWbE), Google Books Corpus, British National Corpus (BYU-BNC), Corpus of News on the Web (NOW), Corpus del Español.
Reflecting the widespread impact of changes in crime and its policing, the collection contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, notes, correspondence, agency records and periodicals and unites a number of geographic areas, making it possible to trace the influence of a legal judgement or development of a penal methodology through various different jurisdictions. The archive also unites a number of disciplines, from law, criminology, and history to studies of popular culture and fiction. Coverage, includes Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes and includes material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German, 1790-1920
Includes the full text of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides. Also includes over 500 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum's archive of production photos.
Full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world. Coverage - 1475-1900.
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 2,800 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
A tool for business students and researchers, providing the latest insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. It offers full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, as well as case studies and company profiles.
E&E Publishing is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. The publications available from Environment and Energy News are:
EnergyWire: The Politics and Business of Unconventional Energy.
ClimateWire: The Politics and Business of Climate Change.
E&E Daily: The Best Way to Track Congress.
Greenwire: The Leader in Energy and Environmental Policy News.
E&ENews PM: Late-Breaking Energy and Environmental Policy News.
E&ETV's OnPoint: Compelling Interviews with Key Policy Leaders.
Environmental Studies in Video will contain 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
A resource for the study of American social, cultural and popular history, providing access to thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Spanning more than two centuries, Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991 offers researchers a wealth of primary documents ranging from the early era of aviation to the high-tech air fleets of the twentieth century. With documents such as photographs, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, draft technical specifications, government documents, and other primary source material from Smithsonian libraries, including the National Air and Space Museum archives and library, this archive covers the technical and social impact of aviation with astonishing breadth and detail. The archive supports enthusiasts and researchers interested in early flight, inventions, the military, the development of the commercial airline industry, women’s studies, African American studies, and more. It is paired with modern Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine back files to present unique and comprehensive insight.
Complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, including Special Supplements and the FT Magazine, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Coverage from 1888-2010
Contains diplomatic correspondence, letters, reports, surveys, material from newspapers, statistical analyses, published pamphlets, ephemera, military papers, profiles of prominent individuals, maps and many other types of documents sourced from The National Archives, Kew, the official archive of the United Kingdom. Full-text search is available across all documents
Module I: 1971-1974: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis
Module II: 1975-1978: The Lebanese Civil War and the Camp David Accords
Module III: 1979-1981: The Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. Updated annually.
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, The Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale Historical Newspapers provides an unparalleled window to the past.
Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps. The geoportal's records have been aggregated from repositories located in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. This site is solely an aggregator and does not host any data.
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
Hoosier State Chronicles is Indiana's digital historic newspaper program and provides free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers. The collection contains over 58,000 issues.
Online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.
Full text searchable access to this major British Daily national newspaper featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum. The paper is generally regarded as centrist, taking idiosyncratic views on the free market, social issues and culture.
Digital archive documenting Indiana history with material from Sabin collection and other Gale sources. Includes personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books. Divided into the five following categories: “The Land,” “Life on the Frontier,” “Indiana as a Territory,” “Indiana as a State,” and “Using Primary Sources in the Classroom.”
Collaborative effort providing access to primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. Serves as gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media. Holds over 340,000 items in 248 collections.
The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.
Understanding Shakespeare is a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of Shakespeare’s plays to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about them—line by line. Users simply click next to any line of text in a play and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.
Kanopy offers one of the largest collections of films in the world with 50,000+ films from thousands of leading producers. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos.
LexisNexis State Capital is an online service providing access to state government information. It includes legislative information (status of bills, full text of bills, legislative calendars), state statutes, full text of state regulations, information about state legislators and their staffs, and news sources for information on state issues for all 50 states.
Provides the essential primary sources necessary for researchers, students, and educators to delve deeper into gay rights movements, and to explore the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.
NOTE: Collection will not be complete until the end of March, 2016
A digitization of the entire run of Liberty Magazine, nearly 1,400 issues, containing over 17,000 fiction and non-fiction articles and thousands of advertisements all in a searchable, full-color format. Database allows browsability by date, contributor, and artist and allows full-text search of the entire publication (including advertising, maps, and cartoons).
Searchable database of the complete run of publications: Listener and Listener and BBC television review. Established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, the weekly publication also discussed major literary and musical programs, and regularly reviewed new books. This archive enables users to search across 125,000 pages of the Listener publications, all newly digitized from originals in full color. Select broadcast transcripts are also included in this database.
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to works from 1450-1914. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
A series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap. Includes all material represented in the original publications, preserved in its original context, fully searchable and in high-resolution full color.
The complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Includes sections on: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, National Geographic Kids
Online classical music library offers streaming access to well over 120,000 CDs of standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs, as well as selected recordings from over 650 labels such as Chandos, Deutsche Grammophon, and EMI Classics. Text resources include liner notes, composer/artist biographies, work analyses, opera libretti and synopses. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined NML playlists.
A digital collection of Historical Newspapers from the collection of the Indiana State Library in partnership with Newspapers.com.
NOTE: In order to access the collection you will need to click on the link, above, which will take you to the INSPIRE webpage. Then click on the link for Newspapers.com--the line of blue text underneath the logo for the Hoosier State Chronicles. Direct access is not available at this time.
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.
An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian age. Series One: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding through a rise in literacy and leisure and an explosion of sports and hobbies. Series Two: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial, covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism.
A small but growing collection of feature-length films of performances by contemporary artists representing the Pacific Northwest, New York, Australia, Germany, France, Poland, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Belgium, Montreal, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.
Complete archive of the magazine digitized from originals in full color. Picture Post provides a snapshot of British life, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things. This database allows browsability by issue or contributor; users can also search by keyword, article title, caption, contributor name, entire document, or record number.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Contains materials aimed at the general public, rather than medical professionals: printed books and pamphlets, anatomy guides, tickets to medical lectures, letters advocating certain treatments, business documents, and illustrated advertisements on cards, broadsides, and posters. Features topical essays by leading scholars, select links to external research, a glossary of medical terms, and a chronology.
Continuously published since 1872, Publishers Weekly has consistently been the authoritative voice for US publishing industry news and book reviews, with ongoing coverage of the British book trade. The complete archive includes nearly 200,000 book reviews, and bestseller lists from 1895 forward.
Note: This database is still under construction. They will continue to load content---including every book review---into the archive with an anticipated project completion in the fourth quarter of 2016 or the first quarter of 2017.
Includes the complete run of the weekly magazine of humour and satire, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.
Contains material produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry, Chemical Society and the Royal Institute of Chemistry, including minutes, magazines, annual reports, monographs and lists of Fellows. Includes collections entitled: Chemistry in Britain (1965-2003), Education in Chemistry (1964-2006), Monographs for Teachers (1962-1993), Lectures, Monographs and Reports (1949-1967), List of the Officers and Fellows of the Chemical Society (1843-1053), Chemical Society and Royal Society of Chemistry Annual Reports (1963-2012), Royal Institute of Chemistry Annual Reports (1960-1979), Chemical Society Council Minutes (1841-1966), Royal Institute of Chemistry Council Minutes (1876-1966), and Royal Institute of Chemistry Committee Minutes (1877-1946)
A research database providing easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
Showcasing over 1,000 rare prompt books of 34 of Shakespeare’s plays from the collection of the Folger Shakespeare Library, including editions owned by notable actors and directors. These prompt books (scripts of the plays marked up for performance) tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theaters throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally. Other archival material includes letters, photographs, illustrations, costume and set designs.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Includes: Part 1. Debates over slavery and abolition, Part 2. Slave trade in the Atlantic world, Part 3. The institution of slavery , and Part 4. The age of emancipation.
Brings together Primary and secondary documents and collections covering an extensive time period from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.
Knowledge Edge features more than 1,200 e-books and chapters, 700 videos and video clips, and 16,000 technical papers. It also makes available the first-ever Manufacturing Knowledge Base Wiki, with more than 10,000 entries, peer-reviewed by subject matter experts; bringing online SME’s Tool & Manufacturing Engineers Handbook, continuously updated and readily accessible to subscribers.
NOTE: you will be required to log on using your career account.
Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world’s leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.
Drawn from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources, this comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties.
State Papers online offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators, present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain. State Papers online is published in six parts covering three hundred years of British and European history.
Part I. The Tudors, 1509-1603: State papers domestic;
Part II. The Tudors, 1509-1603: State papers foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and registers of the Privy Council;
Part III. The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I-Anne I, 1603-1714: State papers domestic;
Part IV. The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I-Anne I, 1603-1714: State papers foreign, Ireland and registers of the Privy Council;
Part V: Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council;
Part VI: Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany.
Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
The full-text searchable digital archive of what was once the world’s largest selling newspaper. Contains over 1 million pages of the newspaper’s backfile, from its first issue to the end of 2000, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
This database is comprised of items selected from the National Museum of American History and contains about one million pages of primary source documents. The collection includes catalogs, pamphlets, advertising materials, and ephemera on essential industries that emerged in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries -- steam engines, railroads, motorized vehicles, agricultural/farm machinery, building and construction, mining, and more.
News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. These feeds are monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes over 5,000 feeds across a range of business and general news topics.