Digitized collection of the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Libraries in Oxford, United Kingdom. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th and 18th century England.
Consists of two major collections comprising myriad sub-series.
The Roger Baldwin Years, 1912-1950, contains sub-series with clippings and files on academic freedom; censorship; legislation; federal departments and federal legislation; state activities; conscientious objectors; injunctions; and labor and labor organization correspondence.
Years of Expansion, 1950-1990, encompasses foundation project files on the Amnesty Project, 1964-1980; the Lawyers Constitutional Defense Committee, 1964-1976; and subject files on freedom of belief, expression, and association; due process of law; equality before the law; international civil liberties; and legal case files, 1933-1990.
This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the fieldwork of early scholars, as well as contextualizing documents from the same time period, including correspondence, and subsequent writings that led to major publications such as draft manuscripts, lectures and articles. Scholars can trace the full scholarly process in all of its stages, from qualitative data gathering to analysis through publication, while cross-searching contemporaneous research from the most important scholars in the discipline.
Exclusive issues-based documentary films focusing on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more, from leading film producers, distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world.
Full collection of 1800 films is anticipated to be completed in 2020.
Five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink. Module One includes printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content reflecting reflect a wide range of food cultures and traditions.
Containing peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals, this resource covers over 500 topics broken down by subject including the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Includes search tools: Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, Publication Search
Provides detailed global company and industry industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Contains thousands of company histories and industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Learners can access interdisciplinary news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals--leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries--providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women's lives across the globe. Users will find timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
IHS Engineering Workbench indexes national and international standards. Purdue Libraries' access features online full-text standards from the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and selected single standards from other standards developing organizations. Titles included in the My Subscription filter are available full-text. ICAO standards include access to redline versions.
NOTE: Some pdfs are secured documents protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management). These documents require a third party software (Plug-in) to be downloaded for viewing. The plugin will remain in your machine unless you reformat your machine or remove it. If you remove it, you will need to reinstall it again for the document to be viewed. To download Plug-in: http://plugin.fileopen.com
NOTE: ASTM standards are no longer available through the IHS platform. See the database ASTM Compass for ASTM standards access.
NOTE: ASME BPVC (Boiler Pressure Vessel Code) standards are now available through the database ASME Standards Collection.
NOTE: AASHTO, selected ACI, selected BS, ANS, ASHRAE, ASME (except ASME BPVC see note above), AHAM, ICC, selected ISO, and NFPA standards are now available to Purdue users through a new standards provider, TechStreet Enterprise. See Techstreet Enterprise entry for access information.
Complete archive of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald to the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Provides legislative, regulatory, and local ordinance monitoring for all 50 states with full-text and keyword searching, issue screening, and tracking tools.
Users can run special reports and set up custom email alerts.
Also includes the publication State Net® Capitol Journal
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.
Note: Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in the runs of some publications.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford DNB) is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
Vault's career guides include interview strategies, job-search tips, and full-length profiles of more than 1,000 companies and leading industries. Vault publishes over 120 titles covering a wide range of industries and professions, from accounting and law to biotech, real estate and culinary arts, plus important career topics including resume writing, diversity and environmental initiatives at companies.
An encyclopedic resource on veterinary science and care. The collection explains more than 500 procedures and techniques across more than 600 titles, and covers clinical skills, explanations of conditions, and training on technology and animal handling.
Focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century., including: the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.