These sources are "starting places" for finding journal articles, conference papers, standards and technical reports. Many contain full-text articles for which Purdue Libraries has subscriptions or links to the library catalog.
These databases index journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports.
- Aerospace & High Technology Database
Indexes aerospace journal articles, conference publications, and technical reports, including AIAA and NASA publications.
- Technology Research Database
This database indexes journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, and civil engineering. It incorporates Aerospace and High Technology, Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, and all of their subfiles.
- EI Engineering Village 2
Combines two databases called INSPEC and COMPENDEX and is very useful for journal articles and conference papers. The two databases include historic journals back to the late 1800s.
These sources index a variety of journal articles from many disciplines, including aviation.
- Web of Science
Covers references to a variety of in-depth journals and selected conference publications, including author abstracts, cited references, and related references covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Indexes peer reviewed journals from 5,000 international publishers. It supports research needs of many disciplines including engineering, science, technology, and medicine. This is a new source.
- TRID: the TRIS and ITRD Database
Combines the records from Transportation Research Board's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains full-text publications including general news; business, medical, and legal news and information; reference information. Includes aerospace and aviation magazines and legal publications
- Google Scholar
Free service to many online journals and books. Since Purdue pays subscriptions to many online journals, you may find links to full-text sources.
- OpenURL Referrer
Helps you set up links to Purdue Library holdings from Google Scholar. The OpenURL referrer put the Find It @ Purdue icon in your Google Scholar search results, allowing for quick, easy determination if you can get an electronic copy of an article.