Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

SCLA 102 Transformative Texts, Critical Thinking Communication II: Modern World: Home

Provides access to newspapers, scholarly journals, and video sources for this Spring 2018 class taught by Professor Kim Gallon.

SCLA 102

Purdue Libraries has numerous resources available for conducting research for this class.  A good way to begin searching is looking for books through the Purdue Libraries website. There are many ways of searching for books the Libraries own including subject searches with examples being:

Thomas Clarence

African Americans Intellectual Life

African Americans History

African Americans Politics and Government

African American Athletes

Carson Ben

Books in Purdue Libraries from 2009-present are classified using the Library of Congress (LC) classification system.  Purdue Libraries books from 2008 and earlier are classified using the Dewey Decimal  System.

Downloading Purdue Libaries Ebooks (Guide showing how to download Libraries ebooks from various publishers to various ereaders.)

Interlibrary Loan (Order books and journal articles from other Libraries if not available at Purdue Libraries.)

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers are excellent resources for getting a "first draft" view of history.  Purdue Libraries have access to a number of newspaper databases featuring articles from historical and contemporary newspapers including:

Hoosier State Chronicles (Database of  selected Indiana newspapers compiled by Indiana State Library)

Chicago Defender (Articles covering from 1905-1975 from this influential black Chicago newspaper) Purdue Users Only

Gannett Newsstand (Recent articles from regional newspapers including the Indianapolis Star and Lafayette Journal &  Courier) Purdue Users Only

Ipoll Roper Databank U.S. Public opinion poll results and questions from 1936-present (Purdue Users Only)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Articles from selected historical U.S. newspapers including Chicago Tribune, Indianapolis Star, New York Times for selected periods) Purdue Users Only

ProQuest News Stream (Articles from U.S. and newspapers from 1980-present.) Purdue Users Only

Statistical Abstract of the United States  Annual statistical database produced by U.S. Census Bureau 1878-2012 and by ProQuest since then. (Purdue Users Only)

Journal Articles and Biographical Databases-Purdue Users Only

These resources contain articles from scholarly journals and biographical information.
Academic Search Premier (Articles from multiple scholarly journals and popular magazines)

African American Periodicals (Over 170 periodicals published between 1825-1995 compiled from Wisconsin Historical Society)

America:  History and Life (Scholarly articles from U.S. and Canadian History journals)

Biography Reference Center (Provides access to biographies on multiple personalities.

Black Studies Center (Multidisciplinary database providing access various Black Studies resources)

ProQuest Research Library (Articles from multiple scholarly journals and popular magazines)

Streaming Videos (Historical and contemporary video resources from various sources.  Purdue Users Only except for CSPAN Video Archive)

CSPAN Video Archive (Broadcasts programs from CSPAN 1987-present)

Kanopy (Database of 50,000+ films from multiple producers.  Includes documentaries and educational and training videos)

Meet the Press (Broadcasts and transcripts of NBC News Sunday morning program from 1947-present)

60 Minutes (CBS Sunday evening investigative news program from 1997-2014)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007